Advertiser Cup and Weighill Trophy

The league recommenced after the Christmas break with three quarter final matches in the Advertiser Cup. Unfortunately the only remaining Division 2 team, Hanson F, went down 9 – 0 to last years Weighill Trophy winners Hanson C, for whom Gerry Vaughan, Jamie Smith and Nick George won all their sets.

The closest match was between Wallop Wanderers and Hanson D. The D team won the match thanks to an excellent start when winning the first two sets, each in three games. Alex Powell defeated Dom Raymond in the first set 14-21, 21-12 & 19-21, then Ben Addington just held on 7-21, 21-18 & 20-21 to beat Paul Raymond. Mike Cartridge was the star player for Hanson D winning all his three sets in two games. Whilst Rob Macey (Wanderers)  managed to win two and with Dom and Paul winning one each, it was still not enough to prevent Hanson D taking the match 4 – 5.

Hanson Lions just lost to Hanson A 4 – 5. Again the first two sets were critical with Josh White (Hanson A) defeating Zac Hine 21-16, 17-21 & 19-21 in the first and Dan Geary (Hanson A) overcame Rob Williamson 20-21, 21-16 & 15-21 in the second. Peter Henderson won two for Hanson A and Dan managed one more to secure the match, before Rob started a comeback with two wins. One each for Matt Carter and Zac at the end of the match managed to put the score in a better light.

After these matches the draw took place for the semi finals of the Cup and resulted in the following fixtures:- (1) Hanson C  v  Hanson D and (2) Figheldean or Test Valley A  v  Hanson A.

The draw for the quarter finals in the Weighill Trophy produced the following fixtures:-

(1) Hanson E  v  Hanson B, (2) Wallop Wanderers  v  Pumas, (3) Enham  v  3D’s and Figheldean or Test Valley A have a bye. 

Author: via Andover Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page