Chronicle Report 29th Oct 2015

Reigning Premier Division champions, Chippenham A, proved too good for newcomers Bristol Civil Service as they continued their pursuit of another title, winning 8-2 in Bristol. Gary Baldwin took the honours with a hat-trick, with Terry Parkins and Andy Cox both contributing pairs. Dominic Costello registered a brace of his own for the hosts in reply.

Last season’s runners-up, Oldfield A, have already settled into second place this term and recorded a good win of their own, defeating Key Centre A 6-4 in Keynsham. Alan Champneys had a major say in the result with a treble, and he was backed up by Mark Woodcock and Bob Hindle, who both beat Peter Galea. Matthew Rowland and Martyn Le Butt replied with a brace apiece for the Centre.

Two-man Batheaston A did very well to draw with Ensleigh away from home in Division 1, with Dennis Townsend and Gary Sartain both winning two games, plus the doubles. Townsend’s success against Ian Clark was particularly notable. Clark and Ping Zhang won a game each for Ensleigh, to add to the forfeited points.

Bathford B maintained their early promotion challenge with an emphatic 9-1 away victory against Yatton Keynell C, whose only point was claimed by Adam Dawes. Colin Thomas and Chen Chen registered maximums for the visitors, with Steve Phillips chipping in with a pair.

In Division 2, Bear Flat A remain well-placed after thrashing Bathford E 10-0. Pete Gibbs, Mikhail Asanovic, and Andrew Steady were the unbeaten trio.

Elsewhere Key Centre B registered a 6-4 success at home to Yatton Keynell D. Dermot Sanders and Dave Carter won two games apiece for the hosts, with Sue Ruse winning another. Yatton replied through man of the match Jon Freeman’s fine treble and a single victory from Ben Sage.



Premier Division

Bristol Civil Service 2 (D. Costello 2, P. Rekawiecki 0, M. Kinlocke 0) Chippenham A 8 (G. Baldwin 3, T. Parkins 2, A.  Cox 2, Dbls 1)

Key Centre A 4 (P. Galea 0, M. Rowland 2, M Le Butt 2) Oldfield A 6 (M. Woodcock 1, A. Champneys 3, R. Hindle 1, Dbls 1)


Division 1

Batheaston A 2 (D. Townsend 1, P. Smith 0, R. Cotton 0, Dbls 1) Yatton Keynell C 8 (A. Dawes 3, E. Lea 2, M. Wilkins 3)

Frys 8 (M. Moore 2, P. Turner 3, C. Toft 2, Dbls 1) Mayfield 2 (N. Woolley 0, D. Galley 2, S. Tanner 0)

Ensleigh 5 (D. Hockney 1, I. Clark 2, P. Zhang 2) Batheaston A 5 (D. Townsend 2, G. Sartain 2, Dbls 1)

Chippenham C 5 (B. Baldwin 3, J. Wheeler 1, A. Perham 1) Bath Invaders 5 (P. Jeffery 2, S. Monks 1, R. Hall 1, Dbls 1)

Oldfield D 4 (M. Newton 1, J. Taylor 3, B. Neathey 0) Yatton Keynell B 6 (R. Terrell 2, J. Flynn 1, M. Terrell 2, Dbls 1)

Yatton Keynell C 1 (E. Lea 0, A. Dawes 1, M. Wilkins 0) Bathford B 9 (S. Phillips 2, C. Thomas 3, S. Chen 3, Dbls 1)


Division 2

Yatton Keynell B 5 (J. Freeman 2, B. Sage 1, A. Delaney 2) Batheaston B 5 (N. Thomas 1, M. Henry 0, P. Gentle 3, Dbls 1)

Bathford E 0 (M. Davis 0, K. Ball 0, T. Parr 0) Bear Flat A 10 (P. Gibbs 3, M. Asanovic 3, P. Gibbs 1, A. Steady 3, Dbls 1)

Key Centre B 6 (D. Sanders 2, D. Carter 2, S. Ruse 1, Dbls 1) Yatton Keynell D 4 (R. Portlock 0, J. Freeman 3, B. Sage 1)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page