Chronicle Report 21st Jan 2016

The Oldfield inter-club derby in the Premier Division saw the C team narrowly beat the A team 6-4, reflecting their higher league position at present. In-form Paul Redman led the way for the victors with an excellent treble, and there was also a brace from Jim Stevens. Bob Hindle’s pair was the best for the A team, whose other points came from Dave Bartlett and Alan Champneys.

Scott Cooper was the man of the match for Chippenham B in their 7-3 home success against Yatton Keynell A, but he was well supported by Andy Cox and Alan Feltham who both claimed doubles. Jamie Smith recorded a brace for Yatton in reply.

Bath Invaders continued their promotion challenge in Division 1 with a 7-3 victory over Ensleigh, whose only singles wins came from Ian Clark and Adam Thorne. Neil Darnley and Simon Monks both claimed hat-tricks for the Invaders, with Paul Jeffery adding their other point.

Bathford B had to work hard to overcome bottom team Batheaston A 6-4 away from home. Steve Phillips and Jules Truss both carded pairs for the visitors, with Richard Gaisford also winning a game. Dennis Townsend and Gary Sartain won two games apiece for the hosts.

Division 2’s basement side, Bathford E, closed the gap on the teams above them after winning their second match of the season – by seven games to three at home to Batheaston B. Mark Davis took the honours with a maximum, which was supplemented by wins from Tony Parr (2) and Kai Ball. The away side responded through Norman Thomas (2) and Chris Sharpe.

Gary Oaten’s fine treble was not enough for Bear Flat B as they lost 7-3 to Oldfield E at St John’s school. Keith Walter, Lee Bailey, and Matt Parry each won braces for the visitors.



Premier Division

Oldfield A 4 (R. Hindle 2, D. Bartlett 1, A. Champneys 1) Oldfield C 6 (N. Dagger 0, P. Redman 3, J. Stevens 2, Dbls 1)

Chippenham B 7 (A. Cox 2, S. Cooper 3, A. Feltham 2) Yatton Keynell A 3 (J. Flynn 0, J. Smith 2, K. Holland 0, Dbls 1)

Radstock Working Men’s Club A 2 (D. Montano 1, A. Boucher 0, C. Bennett 0, Dbls 1) Bristol Civil Service 8 (M. Kinlocke 3, S. Tainton 2, C. Adamek 3)

Key Centre A 5 (G. Harbour 0, M. Le Butt 2, P. Galea 2, Dbls 1) Oldfield B 5 (W. Guibarra 3, D. Coombe 1, M. George 1)



Division 1

Bath Invaders 7 (P. Jeffery 1, N. Darnley 3, S. Monks 3) Ensleigh 3 (I. Clark 1, A. Thorne 1, M. Clare 0, Dbls 1)

Bathford C 1 (B. Jukes 0, O. Teasdale 0, E. Littlejohns 1) Chippenham C 9 (P. Vincent 2, B. Taylor 3, M. Plowright 3, Dbls 1)

Mayfield 5 (D. Galley 2, R. Morris 1, S. Tanner 1, Dbls 1) Yatton Keynell C 5 (E. Lea 1, T. Payne 1, M. Wilkins 3)

Batheaston A 4 (D. Townsend 2, G. Sartain 2, P. Smith 0) Bathford B 6 (S. Phillips 2, R. Gaisford 1, J. Truss 2, Dbls 1)



Division 2

Bathford E 7 (M. Davis 3, K. Ball 1, T. Parr 2, Dbls 1) Batheaston B 3 (N. Thomas 2, C. Sharpe 1, M. Henry 0)

Bear Flat B 3 (G. Oaten 3, K. Gammon 0, D. Naismith 0) Oldfield E 7 (K. Walter 2, L. Bailey 2, M. Parry 2, Dbls 1)

Key Centre B 1 (M. Tanner 1, S. Ruse 0, D. Carter 0) Bear Flat A 9 (J. Johnstone 2, A. Steady 3, P. Green 3, Dbls 1)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page