Chronicle Report 22nd Dec 2016

Chippenham C closed the first half of the season with a 7-3 away success against Ensleigh A, to leave themselves well placed to challenge for the Division 1 title. Mark Plowright led the way for the visitors with a hat-trick, but Andy Perham (2) and Paul Vincent also won games. Ian Clark (2) and Ping Zhang replied for the home team.

At the other end of the table Oldfield D moved clear of danger with their first win of the season, a 7-3 away victory over win-less Mayfield, whose points came from Dave Galley (2) and Steve Tanner. Julie Taylor took the honours for the victors with a fine maximum and she was well supported by Greg Burridge (2) and Brian Neathey.

Yatton Keynell C maintained their promotion push in Division 2 with an emphatic 8-2 win against their D team club-mates. Wilf Adams and Tony Payne both carded trebles for the C’s with Martin Wilkins adding a further point. Jon Freeman and Joe Dukes earned the D team’s points.

Oldfield F returned from St John’s school with a 7-3 win against Bear Flat B. Ian Dagger and Lee Bailey both registered hat-tricks for the away side, with Paul Harris adding their other point. John Hunter and Trevor Floyd won a game each for the hosts, which were supplemented by success in the doubles.

Current Premier Division champions Chippenham A continued their charge towards another title with an 8-2 win at home to bottom team Key Centre A. Jerry Musselwhite was unbeaten for the title-chasers, but Martyn Le Butt won games against Roy Cary and Terry Parkins to earn the visitors’ points.

Yatton Keynell A’s 6-4 home win against Radstock Working Men’s Club A saw them move further away from the relegation positions, whist leaving their opponents in deeper trouble. Jamie Smith’s maximum was the deciding factor, although Keith Holland and Shaun Eagles also contributed points for the victors. Derek Landricombe and Dave Montano won a brace apiece for Radstock in response    



Premier Division

Oldfield A 5 (D. Bartlett 1, M. Woodcock 0, A. Champneys 3, Dbls 1) Bath Invaders A 5 (R. Hall 2, G. Pells 2, S. Monks 1)

Chippenham A 8 (R. Cary 2, J. Musselwhite 3, T. Parkins 2, Dbls 1) Key Centre A 2 (M. Le Butt 2, B. Pollard 0, D. Carter 0)

Bathford A 6 (T. Earley 2, A. Bolhuis 2, B. Dearling 2) Oldfield B 4 (N. Dagger 0, J. Stevens 0, P. Redman 3, Dbls 1)

Yatton Keynell A 6 (J. Smith 3, K. Holland 1, S. Eagles 1, Dbls 1) Radstock Working Men’s Club A 4 (C. Bennett 0, D. Landricombe 2, D. Montano 2)



Division 1

Bear Flat A 6 (J. Johnstone 1, A. Steady 2, P. Green 3) Bathford C 4 (R. Wickham 0, C. Thomas 2, R. Gaisford 1, Dbls 1)

Ensleigh A 3 (D. Hockney 0, P. Zhang 1, I. Clark 2) Chippenham C 7 (P. Vincent 1, A. Perham 2, M. Plowright 3, Dbls 1)

Mayfield 3 (D. Galley 2, R. Morris 0, S. Tanner 1) Oldfield D 7 (G. Burridge 2, B. Neathey 1, J. Taylor 3, Dbls 1)

Radstock Wreckers 4 (D. Walker 1, P. Crocker 0, W. Button 2, Dbls 1) Yatton Keynell B 6 (A. Purkiss 2, M. Terrell 3, A. Dawes 1)

Oldfield E 7 (C. Joyce 3, D. Rider 2, N. Porter 1, Dbls 1) Bath Invaders B 3 (H. White 0, M. Millard 1, B. Taylor 2)



Division 2

Ensleigh B 2 (O. Newton 2, B. Rouse 0, R. Smith 0) Key Centre B 8 (M. Tanner 3, S. Ruse 2, M. Timpson 2, Dbls 1)

Bathford D 6 (M. Davis 3, E. Holding 1, T. Parr 1, Dbls 1) Batheaston A 4 (N. Thomas 2, G. Sartain 2)

Bear Flat B 3 (K. Gammon 0, J. Hunter 1, T. Floyd 1, Dbls 1) Oldfield F 7 (P. Harris 1, I. Dagger 3, L. Bailey 3)

Batheaston C 1 (G. Avery 1) Chippenham D 7 (J. Wheeler 3, R. Dulanto 3, Dbls 1)

Yatton Keynell C 8 (W. Adams 3, T. Payne 3, M. Wilkins 1, Dbls 1) Yatton Keynell D 2 (M. Yelland 0, J. Freeman 1, J. Dukes 1)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page