Chronicle Report 11th Feb 2016

Player unavailability was a feature of a number of last week’s matches. Bear Flat B could only field two players at home against Chippenham D in Division Two and were well beaten by eight games to two. Keith Gammon and Dave Naismith both managed to beat Mike Entwistle for the hosts’ two points, but Bryan Williams and Jim Wheeler were undefeated for the victors.

Oldfield E were also unable to raise a full complement in their away fixture against Bathford D, as they suffered an 8-2 defeat to the team they had beaten a week earlier. Leon Kashdan-Brown and Russell Cole both recorded maximums for Bathford, with Lee Bailey beating Julian Kashdan-Brown to register Oldfield’s only singles success

The theme was continued at the top of the Premier Division as Chippenham B’s inability to field a full team saw them lose 7-3 at home to Oldfield C, despite Scott Cooper’s treble, to cede ground to their rivals for the runners-up spot. Nigel Dagger, Paul Redman, and Jim Stevens all won games for the away side.

Oldfield A beat Key Centre A 6-4 at home in spite of Martyn Le Butts’s hat-trick for the visitors. Dave Bartlett and Mark Woodcock both carded pairs for Oldfield, with Bob Hindle also winning a game. Grahame Harbour earned Key Centre’s other point.

Dennis Townsend’s brace was all that Batheaston A could muster as they went down 8-2 at home to Ensleigh in Division One. Ping Zhang took the honours for the away team with a treble, and both Ian Clark and Dave Hockney won two games.

Mayfield did well to hold Frys to a draw at St John’s, although the visitors recovered from 4-1 down to prevent a surprise defeat. Nigel Woolley and Dave Galley won pairs for Mayfield, as did Chris Toft and Fred Martin for Frys, whose other point was won by Phil Turner.



Premier Division

Oldfield A 6 (R. Hindle 1, D. Bartlett 2, M. Woodcock 2, Dbls 1) Key Centre A 4 (M. Le Butt 3, G. Harbour 1, K. Milsom 0)

Chippenham B 3 (P. Bevan 0, S. Cooper 3) Oldfield C 7 (N. Dagger 2, P. Redman 2, J. Stevens 2, Dbls 1)


Division 1

Bath Invaders 5 (P. Jeffery 0, S. Monks 1, R. Hall 3, Dbls 1) Chippenham C 5 (A. Perham 2, P. Vincent 1, B. Taylor 2)

Bathford B 8 (J. Truss 2, R. Gaisford 3, S. Phillips 3) Yatton Keynell C 2 (A. Dawes 1, M. Wilkins 0, W. Adams 0, Dbls 1)

Mayfield 5 (N. Woolley 2, D. Galley 2, R. Morris 0, Dbls 1) Frys 5 (P. Turner 1, C. Toft 2, F. Martin 2)

Batheaston A 2 (D. Townsend 2, R. Cotton 0, P. Smith 0) Ensleigh 8 (I. Clark 2, D. Hockney 2, P. Zhang 3, Dbls 1)

Yatton Keynell B 9 (R. Terrell 3, S. Richardson 3, J. Flynn 2, Dbls 1) Oldfield D 1 (G. Burridge 1, C. Dowding 0, M. Newton 0)


Division 2

Bathford E 2 (J. Holding 1, K. Ball 0, T. Parr 0, Dbls 1) Chippenham D 8 (A. Bridge 2, B. Williams 3, J. Wheeler 3)

Bathford D 8 (J. Kashdan-Brown 2, L. Kashdan-Brown 3, R. Cole 3) Oldfield E 2 (K. Walter 0, L. Bailey 1, Dbls 1)

Bear Flat B 2 (K. Gammon 1, D. Naismith 1) Chippenham D 8 (M. Entwistle 1, B. Williams 3, J. Wheeler 3, Dbls 1)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page