Chronicle Report 18th Feb 2016

Bathford A maintained their prospects of a top two finish in the Premier Division with a 6-4 home success against two man Oldfield A, for whom Alan Champneys registered a fine treble. Victory in the doubles gave Bathford the win, after Albert Bolhuis and Bruce Dearling both beat Bob Hindle.

In the lower reaches of the division Yatton Keynell A boosted their chances of escaping relegation thanks to a 6-4 home win against Oldfield B, who are now looking in danger themselves. Jamie Smith starred for the hosts with a hat-trick, and there were further wins from Keith Holland (2) and Shaun Eagles. Mervyn George (2) and Dennis Coombe won games for the away team.

After the latest round of matches Bath Invaders and Chippenham C are tied at the top of the Division One table with identical records. Bath Invaders were not troubled by Oldfield D and came away from Monkton Combe with the full ten points. Ray Hall, Simon Monks and Paul Jeffery were the undefeated trio.

Chippenham C were well tested by Mayfield at home, but came back from 3-1 down to win 6-4 and claim a share of the lead. Paul Vincent and Bryan Taylor carded pairs for the home team, with Andy Perham also winning a game. Nigel Woolley (2) Dave Galley and Reg Morris responded for Mayfield.

In Division Two, Radstock Wreckers continued their promotion charge by beating Bathford D 8-2 at Radstock, leaving their third placed visitors with a mountain to climb if they are to finish in a promotion spot. Wayne Button registered a maximum for the Wreckers, with Dave Gamlin and Paul Crocker both chipping in with braces. Russell Cole and Julian Kashdan-Brown replied with wins for Bathford.

Bottom team Bathford E went down 9-1 at home to Yatton Keynell D and are now well adrift. Andy Delaney and Jon Freeman carded trebles for the victors, and Bob Portlock a pair. Mark Davis’ single win was all that the hosts could muster.




Premier Division

Oldfield B 1 (M. Noel 0, W. Guibarra 1, D. Coombe 0) Bathford A 9 (A. Bolhuis 3, S. Chen 2, B. Dearling 3, Dbls 1)

Bathford A 6 (S. Phillips 1, A. Bolhuis 2, B. Dearling 2, Dbls 1) Oldfield A 4 (R. Hindle 1, A. Champneys 3)

Yatton Keynell A 6 (J. Smith 3, K. Holland 2, S. Eagles 1) Oldfield B 4 (M. Noel 0, M. George 2, D. Coombe 1, Dbls 1)


Division 1

Frys 10 (M. Moore 3, C. Toft 3, F. Martin 3, Dbls 1) Batheaston A 0 (D. Townsend 0, P. Smith 0, G. Sartain 0)

Ensleigh 3 (I. Clark 2, P. Zhang 1, D. Hockney 0) Bathford B 7 (S. Phillips 2, J. Truss 2, R. Gaisford 2, Dbls 1)

Chippenham C 6 (A. Perham 1, P. Vincent 2, B. Taylor 2, Dbls 1) Mayfield 4 (N. Woolley 2, D. Galley 1, R. Morris 1)

Oldfield D 0 (M. Newton 0, J. Taylor 0, B. Neathey 0) Bath Invaders 10 (R. Hall 3, S. Monks 3, P. Jeffery 3, Dbls 1)


Division 2

Bear Flat 10 (P. Gibbs 3, M. Asanovic 3, A. Steady 3, Dbls 1) Bathford E 0 (T. Parr 0, M. Davis 0)

Yatton Keynell D 5 (A. Delaney 2, J. Freeman 1, B. Portlock 2) Key Centre B 5 (C. Chapman 0, D. Carter 3, S. Ruse 1, Dbls 1)

Oldfield E 2 (L. Bailey 0, M. Bishop 0, K. Walter 2) Bear Flat A 8 (P. Green 3, A. Steady 2, P. Gibbs 2, Dbls 1)

Bathford E 1 (M. Davis 1, K. Ball 0, T. Parr 0) Yatton Keynell D 9 (A. Delaney 3, J. Freeman 3, B. Portlock 2, Dbls 1)

Batheaston B 3 (M. Henry 0, N. Thomas 1, C. Sharpe 1, Dbls 1) Bear Flat B 7 (G. Oaten 3, K. Gammon 1, T. Floyd 3)

Radstock Wreckers 8 (W. Button 3, D. Gamlin 2, P. Crocker 2, Dbls 1) Bathford D 2 (R. Cole 1, J. Kashdan-Brown 1, R. Wickham 0)

Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page