Chronicle Report 31st Mar 2016

The two Yatton Keynell teams in Division One experienced contrasting fortunes in the latest round of fixtures, as both of their matches resulted in 10-0 score-lines. The third placed B team thumped bottom team Batheaston A at home, with Richard Terrell, Steve Richardson, and Jeff Flynn all unbeaten. The C team had nothing to show for their visit to Monkton Combe to play Oldfield D, for whom Greg Burridge, Brian Neathey, and Mike Newton won all their games.

Bear Flat A are virtually assured of promotion from Division Two after beating Chippenham D 9-1 away from home. Andrew Steady and Peter Gibbs carded maximums for the visitors, while Jim Wheeler defeated Justin Johnstone to claim the home team’s single point.

The match between Key Centre B and Oldfield E at Keynsham was a much closer affair, which went the way of Oldfield by six games to four, thanks to trebles from Keith Walter and Lee Bailey. Dave Carter, Mark Tanner, and Sue Ruse won a game each for the hosts.

The Oldfield derby in the Premier Division, between the club’s B and C teams, ended all square, leaving the C team still in the hunt for the Runners-Up spot. Nigel Dagger starred for the C’s with a hat-trick, with Jim Stevens claiming a brace. Dennis Coombe’s pair was the best for the B’s, for whom Dave Ashley and Mervyn George won a game each, to add to the doubles point.

The other team challenging for second place, Chippenham B, came away from Radstock with a 7-3 success against Radstock Working Men’s Club A. Andy Cox took the plaudits for the visitors with a maximum, whilst Alan Feltham and Scott Cooper registered braces. Chris Bennett did well to win two games for the home team, who remain bottom of the table.



Premier Division

Radstock Working Men’s Club A 3 (A. Boucher 0, K. Millard 0, C. Bennett 2, Dbls 1) Chippenham B 7 (A. Cox 3, A. Feltham 2, S. Cooper 2) 7

Oldfield C 5 (J. Stevens 2, M. Kerslake 0, N. Dagger 3) Oldfield B 5 (D. Ashley 1, D. Coombe 2, M. George 1, Dbls 1)



Division 1

Bath Invaders 9 (S. Monks 2, N. Darnley 3, R. Hall 3, Dbls 1) Mayfield 1 (N. Woolley 0, S. Tanner 1, R. Morris 0)

Chippenham C 7 (B. Baldwin 2, P. Vincent 3, A. Perham 2) Ensleigh 3 (I. Clark 2, P. Zhang 0, D. Hockney 0, Dbls 1)

Bathford C 7 (L. Kashdan-Brown 3, B. Jukes 1, S. Cope 2, Dbls 1) Bathford B 3 (J. Truss 1, C. Thomas 1, R. Gaisford 1)

Yatton Keynell B 10 (R. Terrell 3, S. Richardson 3, J. Flynn 3, Dbls 1) Batheaston A 0 (R. Cotton 0, P. Smith 0, G. Sartain 0)

Oldfield D 10 (G. Burridge 3, B. Neathey 3, M. Newton 3, Dbls 1) Yatton Keynell C 0 (W. Adams 0, E. Lea 0, A. Dawes 0)



Division 2

Bathford E 0 (J. Holding 0, K. Ball 0, T. Parr 0) Bathford D 10 (R. Wickham 3, J. Kashdan-Brown 3, R. Cole 3, Dbls 1)

Chippenham D 1 (J. Wheeler 1, B. Williams 0, A. Bridge 0) Bear Flat A 9 (A. Steady 3, P. Gibbs 3, J. Johnstone 2, Dbls 1)

Batheaston B 0 (P. Gentle 0, N. Thomas 0, M. Henry 0) Radstock Wreckers 10 (D. Gamlin 3, W. Button 3, P. Crocker 3, Dbls 1)

Key Centre B 4 (D. Carter 1, M. Tanner 1, S. Ruse 1, Dbls 1) Oldfield E 6 (K. Walter 3, M. Parry 0, L. Bailey 3)

Bear Flat A 9 (P. Gibbs 3, J. Johnstone 3, M. Asanovic 2, Dbls 1) Bear Flat B 1 (D. Naismith 0, K. Gammon 0, T. Floyd 1)

Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page