Chronicle Report 14th Apr 2016

Chippenham A’s 9-1 victory over their B team club-mates had quite an impact on the top positions in the Premier Division. The A team moved back into first place and with 3 matches left to play are virtually certain of retaining their title, whilst the B team now have little chance of finishing as runners-up. Andy Cox beat Terry Parkins to win the B’s solitary point, with Jerry Musselwhite and Gary Baldwin claiming maximums for the leaders.

Chippenham Bs slip up has given Bathford A a chance of second place and they took advantage by beating Bristol Civil Service 8-2 with Albert Bolhuis and Bruce Dearling carding trebles, and Ray Bennett also winning a game. Steve Tainton and Mark Kinlocke won a game each for the visitors in reply. However, Oldfield C have three games left to play and are well placed to pip Bathford.

Yatton Keynell B gained club bragging rights over their C team compatriots with an 8-2 success in Division One. Jeff Flynn and Steve Richardson both registered hat-tricks, and Richard Terrell a single win for the B team. The C team’s points were earned by Adam Dawes and Martin Wilkins.

The young Bathford C team finished their first season in Division One with a 7-3 win at home to Ensleigh. Ethan Littlejohns starred for the hosts with a maximum, and there were further wins from Ben Jukes (2) and Leon Kashdan-Brown. Adam Thorne (2) and Ping Zhang replied for Ensleigh.

As expected, Radstock Wreckers wrapped up the Division Two title with a 10-0 hammering of Bathford E, who finished bottom of the table. Dave Gamlin, Paul Crocker, and Wayne Button won all their games for the champions.

Bear Flat A had to settle for second-place after a mighty battle for the title. A 9-1 away win against Batheaston B left them a mere five points adrift after going neck and neck with the Wreckers all season. Norman Thomas beat Peter Gibbs to claim the home team’s single point, whilst Trevor Floyd and Andrew Steady carded trebles for the runners-up.

Elsewhere, Keith Walter played his final match in the league, winning two games as his Oldfield E team won 7-3 away against Yatton Keynell D. However, Lee Bailey overshadowed him on the night with a hat-trick, which was supplemented by a further win from Matt Parry. Yatton’s points came from Andy Delaney (2) and Ben Sage.



Premier Division

Chippenham A 9 (R. Cary 2, G. Baldwin 3, T. Parkins 3, Dbls 1) Radstock Working Men’s Club 1 (A. Boucher 1, D. Montano 0, C. Bennett 0)

Oldfield A 9 (R. Hindle 3, D. Bartlett 3, M. Woodcock 3) Yatton Keynell A 1 (P. Drage 0, S. Eagles 0, K. Holland 0, Dbls 1)

Chippenham B 1 (A. Cox 1, A. Feltham 0, S. Cooper 0) Chippenham A 9 (J. Musselwhite 3, T. Parkins 2, G. Baldwin 3, Dbls 1)

Bathford A 8 (R. Bennett 1, A. Bolhuis 3, B. Dearling 3, Dbls 1) Bristol Civil Service 2 (S. Tainton 1, M. Kinlocke 1, A. Cooper 0)



Division 1

Bathford C 7 (L. Kashdan-Brown 3, B. Jukes 1, S. Cope 2, Dbls 1) Bathford B 3 (J. Truss 1, C. Thomas 1, R. Gaisford 1)

Bathford C 7 (B. Jukes 2, L. Kashdan-Brown 1, E. Littlejohns 3, Dbls 1) Ensleigh 3 (A. Thorne 2, D. Hockney 0, P. Zhang 1)

Mayfield 6 (D. Galley 3, R. Morris 2, S. Tanner 1) Batheaston A 4 (D. Townsend 2, P. Smith 1, Dbls 1)

Oldfield D 4 (G. Burridge 1, J. Taylor 0, B. Neathey 2, Dbls 1) Frys 6 (C. Toft 3, M. Moore 1, P. Turner 2)

Yatton Keynell B 8 (R. Terrell 1, J. Flynn 3, S. Richardson 3, Dbls 1) Yatton Keynell C 9 (A. Dawes 1, W. Adams 0, M. Wilkins 1)



Division 2

Bathford E 0 (M. Davis 0, T. Parr 0, J. Holding 0) Radstock Wreckers 10 (D. Gamlin 3, P. Crocker 3, W. Button 3, Dbls 1)

Key Centre B 8 (C. Chapman 2, B. Pollard 3, M. Tanner 2, Dbls 1) Chippenham D 2 (J. Wheeler 2, B. Williams 0, M. Entwistle 0)

Batheaston B 1 (C. Sharpe 0, N. Thomas 1, M. Henry 0) Bear Flat A 9 (P. Gibbs 2, T. Floyd 3, A. Steady 3, Dbls 1)

Yatton Keynell D 3 (A. Delaney 2, B. Sage 1, B. Portlock 0) Oldfield E 7 (K. Walter 2, M. Parry 1, L. Bailey 3, Dbls 1)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page