Chronicle Report 21st Apr 2016

Reigning KO Cup holders Chippenham A booked their place in this season’s final with a comfortable 5-1 victory over a weakened Bathford A in the semi-final. Ray Bennett beat Roy Cary to register Bathford’s single game, whilst Terry Parkins and Gary Baldwin won both their games for the holders.

The Handicap Cup holders Oldfield C have also made it through to the final in that competition, after beating their D team club-mates 7-2 in a semi-final that was closer than the score-line suggests. Jim Stevens took the plaudits for the holders with a maximum, while Nigel Dagger and Paul Redman both carded braces. Brian Neathey and Mike Newton won a game each for the D team.

In the Premier Division, Radstock Working Men’s Club A completed their season with a draw and a win to edge off the bottom, albeit that it may only be temporary and they will finish in the bottom two anyway. The win was a 7-3 success away to two-man Key Centre A, whose points were earned by Ken Milsom (2) and Brent Pollard. Andy Boucher won both his games for the visitors with Keren Millard also winning a game.

Chippenham C completed their season in Division One with a 7-3 victory away to Yatton Keynell C, and are currently heading the table by seven points. However, Bath Invaders, in second place, have two matches left to play. Bryan Taylor starred for the leaders with a treble, and there were pairs from Andy Perham and Paul Vincent. Adam Dawes and Wilf Adams won a game apiece for Yatton, to supplement the doubles success.



KO Cup

Chippenham A 5 (R. Cary 1, T. Parkins 2, G. Baldwin 2) Bathford A 1 (A. Bolhuis 0, S. Phillips 0, R. Bennett 1)


Handicap Cup

Oldfield D 2 (B. Neathey 1, J. Taylor 0, M. Newton 1) Oldfield C 7 (J. Stevens 3, N. Dagger 2, P. Redman 2)


Premier Division

Oldfield B 5 (D. Ashley 0, D. Coombe 3, M. George 2) Radstock Working Men’s Club A 5 (D. Montano 1, C. Bennett 1, K. Millard 2, Dbls 1)

Yatton Keynell A 4 (P. Drage 1, K. Holland 1, A. Dawes 2) Oldfield A 6 (R. Hindle 3, M. George 2, Dbls 1)

Key Centre A 3 (K. Milsom 2, B. Pollard 1) Radstock Working Men’s Club A 7 (D. Montano 1, K. Millard 2, A. Boucher 3, Dbls 1)


Division One

Yatton Keynell C 3 (A. Dawes1, W. Adams 1, T. Payne 0, Dbls 1) Chippenham C 7 (A. Perham 2, P. Vincent 2, B. Taylor 3)


Division Two

Chippenham D 6 (B. Williams 2, J. Wheeler 3, M. Entwistle 0, Dbls 1) Batheaston B 4 (N. Thomas 1, C. Sharpe 1, P. Gentle 2)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page