Chronicle Report 13th Apr 2017

Batheaston A recorded an 8-2 away win against Bear Flat B in Division 2, but this was not enough for them to remain in with a chance of a promotion place, with Yatton Keynell C and Key Centre B now disputing the title. Dennis Townsend carded another treble for the visitors and he was well supported by Peter Smith and Gary Sartain, who both returned with pairs. John Hunter and Trevor Floyd won a game each for the home team.

Two-man Batheaston B were no match for visiting Chippenham D and could only manage a point each from Chris Sharpe and Richard Cotton as they went down 8-2. Jim Wheeler and John Maloney both claimed maximums for Chippenham.

Chippenham A are close to wrapping up another Premier Division title after defeating Bristol Civil Service 9-1 at home. Gary Baldwin and John Clifford both registered hat-tricks for the title holders, with Terry Parkins adding a brace. Dave Busari won the single point for the away team.

Key Centre A have inched away from the relegation zone after defeating two-man Oldfield A 6-4 at Monkton Combe, but are still in danger with all the teams below them having played fewer matches. Martyn Le Butt earned the plaudits for Key Centre with a maximum and Peter Galea was also on the scoresheet. Alan Champneys (2) and Dave Bartlett won games for the home team in reply.

Oldfield E have sealed the Division 1 title after an 8-2 home success against long time challengers Chippenham C, who could only muster two wins from Brenda Baldwin. Dan Rider chalked up another excellent treble for the champions and there were also pairs from Charlie Joyce and Lester Lasrado.

Bitton beat bottom team Mayfield 8-2 at St John’s school to clinch second place and join Oldfield E in the premier Division next season. Martin Moore led the way for Bitton in a hard earned win and his gritty hat-trick was supplemented by braces from Fred Martin and Chris Toft. Nigel Woolley earned Mayfield’s two points.




Premier Division

Chippenham A 9 (G. Baldwin 3, J. Clifford 3, T. Parkins 2, Dbls 1) Bristol Civil Service 1 (D. Busari 1, I. Khan 0, A. Khan 0)

Oldfield A 4 (D. Bartlett 1, A. Champneys 2, Dbls 1) Key Centre A 6 (M. Le Butt 3, P. Galea 2, K. Milsom 1)

Bathford A 6 (B. Dearling 2, A. Bolhuis 3, J. Foulds 0, Dbls 1) Radstock Working Men’s Club A 4 (C. Bennett 1, P. Ware 2, K. Millard 1)

Oldfield C 4 (M. George 1, D. Ashley 2, D. Coombe 1) Bath Invaders A 6 (G. Pells 3, S. Monks 0, R. Hall 2, Dbls 1)



Division 1

Ensleigh A 1 (D. Hockney 0, I. Clark 1) Oldfield D 9 (G. Burridge 3, J. Taylor 2, M. Newton 3, Dbls 1)

Bear Flat A 6 (J. Johnstone 1, P. Green 3, P. Gibbs 1, Dbls 1) Bath Invaders B 4 (N. Darnley 2, B. Taylor 1, P. Jeffery 1)

Mayfield 2 (N. Woolley 2, D. Galley 0, R. Morris 0) Bitton 8 (F. Martin 2, M. Moore 3, C. Toft 2, Dbls 1)

Radstock Wreckers 7 (D. Walker 2, D. Gamlin 2, W. Button 2, Dbls 1) Bathford C 3 (R. Cole 0, C. Thomas 3, Ju. Kashdan-Brown 0)

Oldfield E 8 (C. Joyce 2, D. Rider 3, L. Lasrado 2, Dbls 1) Chippenham C 2 (M. Plowright 0, A. Perham 0, B. Baldwin 2)



Division 2

Ensleigh B 2 (M. Upward 0, D. Turner 0, O. Newton 2) Oldfield F 8 (P. Harris 2, I. Dagger 2, L. Bailey 3, Dbls 1)

Bathford D 2 (C. Case 0, E. Holding 0, J. Holding 2) Yatton Keynell D 8 (B. Sage 2, J. Freeman 2, M. Yelland 3, Dbls 1)

Bear Flat B 2 (D. Naismith 0, J. Hunter 1, T. Floyd 1) Batheaston A 8 (D. Townsend 3, P. Smith 2, G. Sartain 2, Dbls 1)

Batheaston B 3 (C. Sharpe 1, R. Cotton 1, Dbls 1) Chippenham D 7 (J. Wheeler 3, J. Maloney 3, M. Entwistle 1)

Batheaston C 5 (W. Avery 3, J. Smith-Daye 1, G. Avery 0, Dbls 1) Key Centre B 5 (M. Tanner 1, D. Carter 2, S. Ruse 2)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page