Chronicle Report 20th Apr 2017

Chippenham B were held to a draw away to Bristol Civil Service in the Premier Division, which leaves them as strong favourites for second place, but with an almost impossible task to beat their A team to the title. Dave Busari’s excellent treble underpinned the hosts’ effort, with Abid Khan and Asen Vankov adding one point each. Andy Cox and Scott Cooper carded a brace apiece for Chippenham.

At the other end of the table Yatton Keynell A improved their chances of escaping relegation with an 8-2 success away to Radstock Working Men’s Club A, who could only manage a game each from Chris Bennett and Phil Ware. Neil Bird led the way for the victors with a maximum, whilst Jamie Smith and Steve Richardson both claimed pairs.

Division 1 champions Oldfield E finished their season in style with an 8-2 win away to Bath Invaders B, who had challenged for promotion themselves for much of the season. Dan Rider starred once again with a hat-trick for Oldfield, and there were braces from Lester Lasrado and John Wyles. Bryan Taylor and Martyn Millard earned the Invaders’ points.

Mayfield managed an away draw with Oldfield D, but that was not quite enough for them to move off the bottom of the table. Dave Galley registered a hard earned treble and Nigel Woolley added two points for Mayfield, with Brian Neathey (2) Julie Taylor and Greg Burridge winning games for the home team.

Yatton Keynell C pipped Key Centre B to the Division 2 title by beating their D team club-mates 7-3, despite a maximum from the D team’s Jon Freeman. Wilf Adams, Tony Payne, and Martin Wilkins won a pair apiece for the new champions.

Batheaston C finished their first campaign in the league with a draw away to Chippenham D, for whom Jim Wheeler claimed a hat-trick and John Maloney a brace. The visitors’ points were earned by William (2) and Glenn Avery, and James Smith-Daye.



Premier Division

Yatton Keynell A 5 (J. Smith 3, N. Bird 1, S. Richardson 1) Bathford B 5 (R. Bennett 1, S. Husbands 2, L. Kashdan-Brown 1, Dbls 1)

Bristol Civil Service 5 (A. Khan 1, A. Vankov 1, D. Busari 3) Chippenham B 5 (A. Cox 2, A. Feltham 0, S. Cooper 2, Dbls 1)

Bath Invaders A 9 (S. Monks 2, G. Pells 3, R. Hall 3, Dbls 1) Oldfield A 1 (J. Wyles 0, L. Lasrado 0, P. Drage 1)

Radstock Working Men’s Club A 2 (C. Bennett 1, K. Millard 0, P. Ware 1) Yatton Keynell A 8 (J. Smith 2, N. Bird 3, S. Richardson 2, Dbls 1)

Key Centre A 3 (G. Harbour 0, M. Le Butt 3, D. Carter 0) Chippenham A 7 (T. Parkins 2, R. Cary 2, J. Clifford 2, Dbls 1)



Division 1

Bath Invaders B 2 (P. Jeffery 0, B. Taylor 1, M. Millard 1) Oldfield E 8 (L. Lasrado 2, D. Rider 3, J. Wyles 2, Dbls 1)

Chippenham C 9 (P. Vincent 3, B. Baldwin 3, A. Perham 2, Dbls 1) Ensleigh A 1 (I. Clark 1, D. Hockney 0, P. Zhang 0)

Bathford C 3 (R. Wickham 0, C. Thomas 3) Bear Flat A 7 (P. Gibbs 2, A. Steady 2, J. Johnstone 2, Dbls 1)

Oldfield D 5 (G. Burridge 1, J. Taylor 1, B. Neathey 2, Dbls 1) Mayfield 5 (N. Woolley 2, D. Galley 3, R. Morris 0)

Yatton Keynell B 7 (J. Flynn 2, A. Dawes 1, A. Purkiss 3, Dbls 1) Radstock Wreckers 3 (W. Button 2, D. Gamlin 1, P. Crocker 0)



Division 2

Oldfield F 8 (I. Dagger 2, L. Bailey 3, C. Dowding 2, Dbls 1) Bear Flat B 2 (J. Hunter 0, K. Gammon 0, T. Floyd 2)

Chippenham D 5 (J. Maloney 2, M. Entwistle 0, J. Wheeler 3) Batheaston C 5 (W. Avery 2, J. Smith-Daye 1, G. Avery 1, Dbls 1)

Batheaston A 8 (P. Smith 2, G. Sartain 3, D. Townsend 3) Bathford D 2 (T. Parr 0, M. Davis 1, Dbls 1)

Key Centre B 10 (S. Ruse 3, M. Timpson 3, C. Chapman 3, Dbls 1) Ensleigh B 0 (B. Rouse 0, R. Smith 0, M. Upward 0)

Yatton Keynell D 3 (B. Sage 0, J. Freeman 3, J. Dukes 0) Yatton Keynell C 7 (W. Adams 2, T. Payne 2, M. Wilkins 2, Dbls 1)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Click for more information
Share This Page