Chronicle Report 4th May 2017

The Chippenham club dominated an entertaining team cup finals night at St. John’s school, winning two of the three trophies up for grabs.

Chippenham B overcame Bath Invaders A 5-3 to claim the KO Cup in an enthralling tussle. Scott Cooper starred for Chippenham with a battling treble and Andy Cox won the other two games. Gary Pells, Len Vowles, and Ian Maggs each won a game for Invaders in a match that hinged on two extremely close 5 set contests in games seven and eight, which were both edged by the winners.

Chippenham C beat Yatton Keynell B 5-0 in the final of the Restricted Cup, which was much closer than the score-line suggests – with each of the first three games decided in the fifth set. Paul Vincent and Brenda Baldwin both won a brace for the victors, with Mark Plowright also on the score sheet.

First Division champions Oldfield E beat Second Division Yatton Keynell D 5-1 to win the Handicap Cup. Every single game was close, but Yatton were unable to utilise their handicaps sufficiently to finish off games and only had a single Jon Freeman win to show for all their effort. Alex and Niall Porter both registered pairs for Oldfield, with Dan Rider also contributing.

A number of the outstanding league matches were played, but two Premier Division outcomes are yet to be mathematically resolved. Chippenham B are favourites to pip Bath Invaders A to second place, behind winners Chippenham A, yet Invaders do still have an outside chance with the two teams still to play each other for a second time. At the bottom of the table, Radstock Working Men’s Club A could still escape the bottom two and consign Yatton Keynell to a relegation spot, but would require a shock result against Invaders.




KO Cup Final

Chippenham B 5 (A. Feltham 0, A. Cox 2, S. Cooper 3) Bath Invaders A 3 (G. Pells 1, L. Vowles 1, I. Maggs 1)


Restricted Cup Final

Chippenham C 5 (P. Vincent 2, B. Baldwin 2, M. Plowright 1) Yatton Keynell B 0 (A. Purkiss 0, M. Terrell 0, A. Dawes 0)


Handicap Cup Final

Oldfield E 5 (A. Porter 2, D. Rider 1, N. Porter 2) Yatton Keynell D 1 (J. Freeman 1, J. Dukes 0, M. Yelland 0)


Premier Division

Radstock Working Men’s Club A 3 (P. Ware 1, K. Millard 1, C. Bennett 1) Bathford A 7 (A. Bolhuis 3, B. Dearling 3, Dbls 1)

Chippenham B 6 (A. Cox 2, S. Cooper 2, A. Feltham 1, Dbls 1) Bristol Civil Service 4 (T. Lewis 3, I. Khan 0, A. Khan 1)

Yatton Keynell A 8 (J. Smith 3, N. Bird 2, S. Richardson 2, Dbls 1) Oldfield C 2 (M. George 1, D. Ashley 1, D. Coombe 0)

Bathford B 6 (R. Bennett 2, S. Phillips 1, S. Husbands 3) Oldfield C 4 (M. George 2, D. Ashley 0, D. Coombe 1, Dbls 1)

Radstock Working Men’s Club A 5 (D. Landricombe 2, P. Ware 1, C. Bennett 2) Chippenham A 5 (G. Baldwin 3, B. Baldwin 0, J. Clifford 1, Dbls 1)

Oldfield A 6 (D. Bartlett 2, M. Woodcock 1, A. Champneys 3) Bathford B 4 (S. Husbands 2, R. Bennett 1, S. Phillips 0, Dbls 1)

Bathford A 8 (A. Bolhuis 3, B. Dearling 3, J. Foulds 2) Yatton Keynell A 2 (J. Smith 1, S. Eagles 0, N. Bird 0, Dbls 1)

Chippenham B 7 (S. Cooper 3, A. Feltham 1, A. Cox 3) Oldfield B 3 (P. Redman 1, J. Stevens 0, N. Dagger 1, Dbls 1)



Division 1

Bathford C 5 (R. Wickham 1, C. Thomas 3, Dbls 1) Ensleigh A 5 (I. Clark 2, D. Hockney 1, P. Zhang 2)

Chippenham C 9 (B. Baldwin 3, P. Bevan 2, M. Plowright 3, Dbls 1) Oldfield D 1 (M. Newton 0, B. Neathey 1)

Ensleigh A 3 (I. Clark 2, P. Zhang 1, D. Hockney 0) Bear Flat A 7 (P. Green 3, A. Steady 1, J. Johnstone 2, Dbls 1)



Division 2

Batheaston B 5 (R. Cotton 2, C. Sharpe 0, P. Gentle 2, Dbls 1) Batheaston C 5 (W. Avery 3, J. Smith-Daye 1, G. Avery 1)

Batheaston B 3 (R. Cotton 2, C. Sharpe 0, P. Gentle 0, Dbls 1) Oldfield F 7 (L. Bailey 3, I. Dagger 2, C. Dowding 2)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page