Chronicle Report 15th Feb 2018

The tie of the round in the cup quarter finals was in the KO Cup, where last season’s winners (Chippenham B) and Premier division champions (Chippenham A) were drawn against each other. After an almighty tussle, involving many extremely close games, the B team shaded the contest 5-4 despite Gary Baldwin’s excellent treble for the A’s. Doubles from Alex Kearney and Scott Cooper, plus a single from Andy Cox saw the B team over the line, while Rick Jemmott carded the A team’s only other win.  

Last year’s losing finalists Bath Invaders A joined Chippenham B in the last four after overcoming Bathford A 6-3 away from home. Bhargav Chandra’s maximum was decisive for the victors, whose other contributors were Dave Busari (with a brace) and Julian Elsbury. Phil Marshall (2) and Albert Bolhuis responded for the hosts.

Yatton Keynell B caused an upset in the Restricted Cup, defeating current Division 1 leaders Bath Invaders B 5-3 at Yatton. Andy Boucher’s hat-trick was not enough for the visitors as Andy Purkiss (2) Joe Dukes (2) and Adam Dawes put the home team into the semi-finals once more.

Oldfield F are the last remaining Division 2 team in the Handicap Cup after defeating Yatton Keynell D 5-2 at Monkton Combe. Lee Bailey led the way for Oldfield with a treble and there were further wins from Ian Dagger and Colin Dowding. Bob Portlock and Edward Lea were on the scoresheet for the vanquished visitors.

A win apiece for Greg Burridge and Julie Taylor was too little as Oldfield E slipped out of the competition at home to Ensleigh A, who progress thanks to Ping Zhang (2) Olly Newton (2) and David Hockney.

Pete Gibbs took the plaudits with a maximum as Division 1 Bear Flat A won 6-3 away to Bathdord D from Division 2. Andy Steady (2) and Justin Johnstone completed the away team’s total, whilst Russell Cole, Richard Wickham, and Julian Kashdan-Brown claimed one win each for Bathford.



KO Cup

Bathford A 3 (A. Bolhuis 1, P. Marshall 2, B. Dearling 0) Bath Invaders A 6 (D. Busari 2, J. Elsbury 1, B. U. Chandra 3)

Chippenham B 5 (A. Cox 1, A. Kearney 2, S. Cooper 2) Chippenham A 4 (R. Jemmott 1, T. Parkins 0, G. Baldwin 3)



Restricted Cup

Ensleigh B 0 Ensleigh A 9

Radstock C 0 (S. Young 0, S. Moss 0, I. Pennington 0) Bear Flat A 9 (J. Johnstone 3, A. Steady 3, P. Green 3)

Yatton Keynell B 5 (A. Dawes 1, A. Purkiss 2, J. Dukes 2) Bath Invaders B 3 (B. Taylor 0, S. Monks 0, A. Boucher 3)



Handicap Cup

Oldfield E 2 (G. Burridge 1, M. Newton 0, J. Taylor 1) Ensleigh A 5 (P. Zhang 2, D. Hockney 1, O. Newton 2)

Bathford D 3 (R. Cole 1, R. Wickham 1, Ju Kashdan-Brown 1) Bear Flat A 6 (P. Gibbs 3, A. Steady 2, J. Johnstone 1)

Oldfield F 5 (L. Bailey 3, I. Dagger 1, C. Dowding 1) Yatton Keynell D 2 (R. Portlock 1, E. Lea 1, J. Freeman 0)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page