Bolton News 12th April

AS the league draws to a close, the emphasis is now on the top and bottom teams of the divisions, although the traditional promotion and relegation spots of two up two down are by no means fixed.

The top of the Premier held no surprises with Flixton CC A and Ramsbottom A taking first and second place with a final 6-3 score to Ramsbottom A over Flixton.  At the bottom, a totally uncharacteristic performance by a two-man Radcliffe CC team, including one reserve from Division One, resulted in Ladybridge A winning 9-0, thereby swapping the positions of Burning Desire and Ladybridge A around and putting Burning Desire into the relegation zone.   Burning Desire beat bottom team Ramsbottom C 8-1, but lost third from bottom place on match wins. 

In Division One, Heaton CC A won the title, 10 points ahead of Coburg A, both teams comfortably winning their final matches and well ahead of the pack. At the bottom, Hilton D are adrift of the rest.

Meadow Ben A are top of Division Two, closely followed by Ramsbottom D. Meadow Ben A beat Ramsbottom D 5-4 in the final match. There was a four-team promotion into this division last year. However, Farnworth SC B and Top Spinners have found it a little hot and may be moving back to cooler climates next season.

In Division Three, Boyzone have been consistently ahead of the pack, closely followed by Heaton D, who with a 7-2 win over Polonia Club edged Meadow Ben B into third spot.   This is just as well as they requested not to be in Division Two in the first place. At the bottom, Meadow Hill A, suffering from newbies finding their feet and oldies losing theirs, have been adrift all season despite some very enjoyable confrontations.  One place above, finds Irlam Steel who continue to yo-yo between Divisions Three and Four. 

In Division Four, Farnworth SC D came out top, with Hilton I in second place. At the bottom, Meadow Hill B and Heaton CC E can take a crumb of comfort in the fact there is nowhere to which they can be relegated.

Author: via Bolton Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page