Bolton News 2 May

Last week we had the Finals and Presentation to end the season of the Bolton Table Tennis League. The junior singles had been played on a round robin basis and was won by Jei Makino with runner-up Steven Gao.
The Over 60s singles handicap had also been played as a round robin in which Dave Andrews of Hilton B won, with Kevin Chapman of Coburg as runner-up.
In the handicap singles, Brian Hallsworth (-1) of Radcliffe Cricket Club beat Dave Bolton of Ladybridge A 11 - 7, 11 - 7, 11 – 9.
In the handicap doubles event, Peter McCormick and Sam Greenhalgh (+1) both of Bolton TTC B beat Kevin Chapman and Chris Naylor (-2) of Coburg 11 – 2, 12 – 10, 11 – 2. It was to be a repeat performance in the Level Doubles by the same four players, Greenhalgh and Chapman taking it again 11 – 6, 11 – 8, 8 – 11, 11 – 9.
In the Level Veterans Over 40s event, Anthony Bates of Flixton Cricket Club B beat Hilton B’s Dave Andrews 11 – 5, 11 – 9, 5 – 11, 11 – 9. Again in the Level Singles, it was a repeat performance by the same pair. Again Anthony Bates took it 11 – 3, 11 – 8, 11 – 5.
Special prizes were awarded by the Committee. The Ralph Palmer Trophy for the most promising junior went to Ryan Choong of Ramsbottom. The Albert Howcroft Trophy for the most improved player of the season went to Karolina Mucha of Polonia Club B. The Rupert de Riggs Plate for outstanding help given to juniors was awarded to Sam Evans.

The top ten medals were also awarded for those having won the most games in the season in each division. These went to Carl Bennet of Walkden Methodists in Division Three, Lee Devenport of St Paul’s Peel in Division Two, Martin Holt of Ramsbottom Town C in Division One and Michael Moir of Ramsbottom Town A in the Premier Division.

Author: via Bolton Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page