Premier British League Round 14 - Report

Ormesby completed a historic treble as their Premier British League side wrapped up the title with an emphatic 8-0 win over Drumchapel.

Any sort of victory would have been enough for Ormesby given their superior sets difference, but, as their teams have done across the board in British League this season, they did it in style, winning in devastating fashion against a Drumchapel side that ultimately finished third.

In completing the treble, Ormesby have achieved a feat rarely replicated in British League history. Their Premier Division crown adds to their Women's and Junior Boys' title clinched in previous months, a truly astonishing accomplishment. Their conquests were commemorated appropriately with members of all three teams present for a celebration after the day's play finished, with Enio Mendes given particular reason to celebrate for his player of the season award.

Ironically, victory ended up to be irrelevant for Ormesby as title rivals Sycamore suffered a shock 5-3 defeat to the excellent Fusion. With the title already all but out of their hands, Sycamore appeared to find motivation hard to come by and ultimately fell flat. Nevertheless, Fusion deserve credit for their stunning performance, admirably defeating the title contenders with Lorestas Trumpauskas and Kazeem Adeleke winning two each, whilst Mike O'Driscoll superbly overcame the previously unbeaten Kenichi Matsubuchi, as did Adeleke. It was a hugely pivotal result for Fusion as it moved them into fourth, enhancing the size of their end of season cheque in the process.

In fifth place were Barrow, who secured the spot with a 6-2 victory over relegated Bournemouth Sports. Sean Doherty and Jonathan Crawford starred with two victories each, while Danny Lawrence and Paul Cicchelli chipped in with a win apiece to secure the win.

It meant London Academy finished sixth despite beating Kingfisher 6-2. Adam Nutland ended an impressive season with two wins, as did Gabriel Acahmpong, who continued to show his increasing ability. The win was sealed with a win apiece from Anthony Corbin and Chris Lewis.

Author: via British League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page