Gloucestershire Schools Individual Championships - 4th January 2014

The tournament was held at Waterwells on 4 January 2014.

The girls U16 saw only three entrants who played each other in a group.  Katie Trinder (S) was the comfortable winner with Elinor Prescott (S) as runner-up.

The boys U11 had six entrants who played in two groups.  The top two qualified for the semi finals.  Stanley Shilton (S) beat Scott Bramley (Ci) in the first semi final and Irek Nawiesniak (Ch) defeated Benjamin Greve (S) in the second.  The final saw Stanley beat Irek in straight games.

There were nine entrants in the boys U13 so this meant three groups with the top two in each group making it through to the knockout phase.  Ben Tyndall (G) beat Frederick Donald (Ci) in the first semi final and Louis Lovell (S) saw off Jack Jones (G) in the second.  Ben defeated Louis three games to one in the final.

The boys U16 saw the largest entry with 19 players who competed in six groups. The quarter finals saw Olly Tyndall (G) beat Ed Birt (G); Shrey Bhardwaj (Ch) beat Max Benson-Bunch (G); Kim Benson-Bunch (G) beat Jamie Theyer (Ch) and Ben Glover (S) beat Seb Culpepper (S).  Olly beat Shrey in straight games in the first semi final to set up a final with Ben who also scored a straight games victory over Kim.  Olly then defeated Ben in straight games in the final.

The boys U19 had five entrants who all played each other and this turned out to be the closest event of the day with no player being unbeaten.  The closest matches saw Sam Turner (G) beat Owen Berry (G) 12 – 10 in the final game and Oliver Philp (S) beat Liam James (G) 11 – 9 in the fifth.  The final match of the day decided who would be the winner with Ben Roberts (G) up against Owen.  Owen took the match in four very close games to win the event on count back, with Ben finishing as runner-up.

Thanks go to Les Smith (GTTA President) for presenting the trophies (and umpiring one match), Gary Tyndall for helping to set up the venue and keeping everyone supplied with refreshments, and the players,  Pradeep Bhardwaj and Tom Watmore for ensuring that each match had an umpire.

The winners all go through to the national finals in Doncaster on Saturday 26 April 2014.  We wish them success.



Graham Slack - Gloucestershire TTA Development Officer
Author: via Cheltenham Table Tennis Association
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page