News Report wc 21 Mar 2016

Barrow C became division 3 champions on Monday when arch rivals, Saughall Institute, failed to hit a maximum score against lowly Electric Sports A, the 9 1 result meaning Bryan Fitzpatrick and his Barrow team triumphed by just a single point. Congratulations to other team members Michelle Hall and Veronica Nicholas. Elsewhere in division 3 Tom Bawn hit a maximum as Officers E outpointed their own G team 9 1 to remain in third position.

In the Premier division the two Newton teams fought out a high quality draw despite three terrific wins for the first team from Shaun Hall. The A team included Ken Connor , Milan Puchala and Joe Killoran and on adjoining table they reached the Cup final 5 4 and now face Barrow in two weeks time. Simon Jones was also in unbeatable form as Pulford consolidated third spot with an emphatic 9 1 victory over a very useful Pulford A trio including Dave Southall and Ray Worthington.

Division 1 action saw County Officers crowned as worthy champions following a comprehensive victory over Groves A , and congratulations go to squad players, Keith Bartlett, Andy Taylor and Martyn Jones. Second placed Barrow A, led by unbeaten Martin Caveen emphatically defeated Newton B 8 2, and Officers A edged out Groves B 6 4.

Saughall Port are stuttering towards the division 2 title following another tough match away at a strong Groves D team, but main rivals, Officers C, also slipped up being held to a draw at Barrovians despite three fine wins from Daniel Webber. Will Sleddon was another player in top form as Officers B returned from Tarporley with a 7 3 victory despite fine play from Russell Hunt.

D Terry
Author: via Chester and Ellesmere Port Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Click for more information
Share This Page