Gt Horkesley A are the CDTTL Premier Division Champions

Gt Horkesley A have won the inaugural Colchester & District Table Tennis League Premier Division title and in doing so completed their first title win in thirty years! Led by the indomitable Mike Wright returning from a season out with injury the team consisting of Richard Goodhand, Colin Bennett, Aimee Sparkes and Jake Collins with Collins, the new Colchester Men’s champion providing the boost to get their season started. Horkesley were deserved champions completing the season undefeated finishing twenty-eight points above arch-rivals Tollgate A, last year’s winners. At the bottom Tollesbury A and St James B are relegated with just one win between them but the youngsters of Tollesbury will have gained valuable experience for the future.

In Division One Pegasus A were champions, returning to the top flight thanks mainly to the Division’s top performer Ian Whiteside joined by Steve Noble, Glenn Laing and Duncan Elloy. Just thirteen points covered the top four with University of Essex A just pipping Walton A to the second promotion spot by virtue of more wins. Credit must go to Dedham A who finished fourth putting out an ever-present team of Mike and Paul Tracey and Mel Rampton. Lawford A and B were relegated, ironically both scoring the same number of points!

St James C are the winners of Division Two, led by Colin Beaumont with the two John’s; Hatley and Fenton as well as the two promising young Hume brothers Paul and Sam. The other St James team did not fair quite as well, without a win all season, joined by Tollesbury B in going down. H20 Rowhedge F are promoted subject to appeal.

Division Three was won by Lawford C thanks to Ian Sherwood, Paul Hewitt, Andrea Alleyne and James Tindle with Gt Horkesley F joining them in Division Two next season. Congratulations to youngster Matt Rogers who topped the averages with 45 wins from 51 games averaging over 88%. At the foot of the table H20 Rowhedge H, who unfortunately lost all their matches and Pegasus F are relegated.

The Gilberd B won Division Four despite being beaten twice by the University of Essex B who won all their games, the only team in the entire league to achieve this feat! Dave and Robert Austin along with Robert Wood-Norman and Bradley Mann were the schools representatives. CRGS have the dubious honour of winning the wooden spoon.

Tollgate A were winners of the Kiltie Cup despite losing 7-2 on the night to St James A who played an un-registered player unfortunately. Dedham A won the John Kellett Cup, beating H20 Rowhedge E 7-2 with St James C completing the double, beating Gt Horkesley D 9-0 to take the Giles Bennett-Smith Cup. Horkesley’s E team went one better winning the Noel Underdown trophy with St James E completing the cup events winning the inaugural John Welham Shield.

Matt Rogers of Gt Horkesley won the prestigious Len Barton award whilst Lewis Bardell won the Florence Birbeck trophy and Roger Springett the Myrtle Fisher award at he League AGM and presentations, held on Wednesday 7th May at the Colchester Bowls Club.

There was further good news as Rik James accepted the position of Coaching Officer and Tom Lewis took over the Press Officer role!

Author: via Colchester Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page