City of Derby Junior 4 Star Tournament results

The Derby 4* Junior Select was held over the weekend 8th/9th March at the Moorways Sports Centre, Derby

A somewhat sad weekend at what is probably the last Derby Junior at the Moorways Centre.  It has been held there every year from 1979.  One possible venue is the Velodrome being built alongside the Derby County football ground but obviously costs will loom high in any decision making for 2015. 

Entry numbers were down on last year but the standard was just as good as ever and some of the semis and finals were worthy of being exhibition matches.  The one match locally to celebrate was that of Isobel Ashley from Chesterfield winning the Junior Girls title by beating Denise Payet(Mi) in the final.  A picture is attached of Isobel with Association President Tony Chatwin.   Linda Holmes won the first Girls title followed by Nicola Deaton in 92 and 93 and Emma Vickers in 2005 and 2007. 

U13 Boys – James Smith beat Ethan Walsh

U13 Girls – Denise Payet beat Sophie Barlow

Cadet Boys Banded 1 – Joe Clark beat Eren Gozcu

Cadet Girls Banded 1 – Charlotte Bardsley beat Gauri Duhan

Cadet Boys – Omar Khassal beat Alex Ramsden

Cadet Girls - Denise Payet beat Hiba Freedj

Junior Boys Banded 1 – Jonny Higgins beat Kin Fung Chan

Junior Girls Banded 1 – Isabelle Joubeily beat Stephanie Cross

Junior Boys – Adam Harrison beat Luke Savill

Junior Girls – Isobel Ashley beat Denise Payet

Thanks to Mike Payne for the article

Author: via Derby & District Table Tennis Association
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page