Observer 04-12-15

In Division 1 of the Hastings & District Table Tennis League Division 1, Bexhill B enjoyed a much-needed 8-2 win over Tackleway B in which Andy Summers and Yotza Krstic were unbeaten and Hastings Over-50 champion John Ellis won twice.

Martin Richards was the only singles winner for Tackleway who came so close to a consolation point with Adrian Goodrum twice losing by a 2 point margin in the deciding set.

Third placed Hollington Academy B disposed of Saints B 10-0 as Rose Rainton, Robin Gibbs and Jamie Martin completed the whitewash. Rainton has still to lose this season while Saints’ John Wond took all his opponents to 5 sets without registering a win.

Hollington Academy A maintained the pace at the top with a 9-1 win over Tackleway C with maximums for Paul Barry and Basher Obeyed. The Academy side brought in junior Ryan Heselden who picked up two wins.


In Division 2, Hollington Academy D are slipping off the pace as they followed up last week’s draw with NALGO A with a first defeat against Tackleway D 7-3. Alan Blackman had a fine maximum for Tackleway, backed by two wins for Owen Hatter while Kevin Barry won two for Hollington.

Bexhill D’s 9-1 win at Tackleway F means they lead the Division by a distance. They had Brian Beaney and John Bradbury unbeaten and two wins for Trevor Towner, who had to come from 6-10 down in the decider to beat Danny Kildea.


It’s tight at the top in Division 3 but leaders Bexhill F have the advantage of a game in hand as they defeated McPhersons 9-1 with three wins each for Harvey Webb and Malcolm Glover and two for Ricky Knight.

Monarchs are level on points with Bexhill F after beating Tigers D 7-3 with two wins each from Andrew Edwards, Peter Harding and Dave Turnbull.  David Tran had an outstanding maximum for Tigers and has lost only once this season.

Hollington D are in contention, and they beat Tackleway G with three wins for Ryan Demeza and two for Kieran Gibbs. Kevin Eastman won two for Tackleway, who lost all three of the games requiring a 5th set.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page