Eastbourne Closed 2015

Rob Warner and Sheila King dominated the Eastbourne & District  Table Tennis League Closed Championships on Sunday at Shinewater Community Centre.

Rob Warner (Eastbourne Borough) regained the Men’s Singles title from defending champion and top seed Rory Scott (Cavendish) in a tense final 12-10, 7-11,11-5,11-7.

In the semi-finals, Warner had beaten Sam Collins (Willingdon) and Scott came through against team-mate Will Goodstone.

Sheila King (Willingdon) retained the Ladies’ Singles crown, beating Sue Adamson (Willingdon) 11-8,11-7,10-12,11-7 in the final. Adamson had earlier eliminated second seed Pam Winter (Borough).


Warner completed a fine double by winning the Veterans’ Singles title in a straight sets win over team-mate Martin Kellaway in a repeat of last year’s final.

The Over 50 Singles was won by Tony Rowell (Laughton) who overcame Brian Thompson (Bishopstone) in the final. Rowell had earlier beaten his doubles partner Faldi Adams (Laughton) at the semi-final stage.

Rowell and Adams combined to take the Men’s Doubles 11-8,11-7,11-5 against Rob & Ryan Warner (Borough) after eliminating top seeds Scott & Will Goodstone (Cavendish) in the semi-final.


Ladies’ Singles finalists King & Adamson retained the Ladies’ Doubles with a 4-set final win over Ying Wang & Angela Hind (Polegate).

The Mixed Doubles final was won in 4 sets by Kellaway & Winter against Collins & King, despite contriving to lose a 10-4 lead in the 4th set.

Will Goodstone took the Juniors’ Singles Final in straight sets against Ben Occardi (Cavendish).


The Divisional events produced some quality play and close contests.

Brian Thompson won Division 2 in an all-Bishopstone final with Tony Anderson.

Daniel Guddal (Cavendish) came from 2 sets down to beat Graham Sheppard (Polegate) in Division 3,  a feat matched by Andrew MacReadie’s recovery against Angel Hind in Division 5.

The Division 4 competition was outstanding, culminating in Bart Ratkiewicz beating Daniel Starnes (both Polegate).

Simon Webb (Polegate) beat Ben Occardi to take the Division 6 title.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page