Observer 01-05-15

Bexhill A retained the First Division title in the Hastings & District Table Tennis League after a comfortable 8-2 win over bottom side Saints B in which Rob Warner and Martin Kellaway were unbeaten. Second placed Hollington A were unable to extend the contest into the final week’s matches after dropping a point in their 7-3 win over Hollington B when Paul Barry won 3 games and Basher Obeyed won 2; they now need a point from their visit to Bexhill B to ensure second place.

Tackleway A and Bexhill C shared the spoils in a 5-5 draw where another maximum from Bexhill’s Graham Gillett kept his side in the match. Pete Robinson won 2, as did Tackleway’s John Wilson, who led Gillett 2-0 before losing in 5 sets.


Division 2 will go to the wire after the two leading teams both notched up maximum point wins.  Tackleway C maintained their 2 point lead with an 8-2 win over Tigers B with Kevin Rowe unbeaten and James Gorridge and Danny Rickaby winning 2 each.

Chris Woods scored both Tigers’ wins but Tackleway will be grateful for two wins at deuce in the 5th set, either of which could have halved their lead.

In close and dogged pursuit, Bexhill E beat bottom side Monarchs 10-0 with maximums from Trevor Towner, Brian Beaney and John Bradbury.

Hollington E had an excellent 8-2 win over NALGO A with Bradley Heselden unbeaten and 2 wins each for Dave Watters and Ryan Heselden.


Saints E are Third Division champions after Tigers E were unable to raise a team and conceded the match. Claire Bridges, Derek Brown and Peter Lambert are worthy winners after winning every match to date.

Tigers D beat Hollington G 8-2 with a Stuart Pattenden maximum and 2 wins each for Andy Holmes and Phil Talbot while Keith Young won 2 for Hollington which included a 20-18 set against Holmes.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page