Watts Cup Final 2015

Saints A retained the Watts Cup, the Hastings & District Table Tennis League’s knock-out competition with a comprehensive 5-0 win over Hollington A in the final.

Saints, represented by Ritchie Venner, Dave Butler and James Winchester, won the trophy for the fourth consecutive year.

After winning the opening doubles, Saints took the next four singles, despite some valiant efforts by Hollington to get on the scoreboard.

Stacey Furnival scraped the first set from Butler before going down 3-1 before the much-anticipated clash between Venner and Hollington’s Paul Barry. After an epic encounter, Venner emerged the winner  11-9 in the 5th set.

Butler then defeated Andy Furnival in straight sets before Winchester sealed things with a 3-1 win over Stacey Furnival.

In the semi-finals, Saints A had beaten Hollington C and Hollington A beat Saints C, having eliminated league champions Bexhill A at the Quarter-Final stage.


Tigers B won the Minor Trophy with a 5-3 win over Tackleway E in the final of the knock-out competition. Tigers, represented by Chris Woods, Pam Winter and Roger Smith came through the strongest entry for this competition in some years with the top 5 Second Division teams all qualifying.

The final swung on two singles matches, both won by Tigers. Firstly Chris Woods gained an excellent win over Kevin McEwan, then, with the match score at 4-3, Pam Winter defeated Peter Wilson in 5 sets to secure the trophy.

In the semi-finals, Tigers beat Bexhill D while Tackleway E eliminated Division 2 champions Tackleway C.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page