Observer 02-12-16

First Division leaders Hollington Academy A strengthened their grip in the Hastings & District Table Tennis League with a 6-4 defeat of nearest rivals Bexhillians A. Paul Barry was unbeaten for the leaders, while Nathan Darby won two, losing in 5 games to Rob Warner who won twice for Bexhill. Darby’s defeat means that no player is still unbeaten in Division One.

Third-placed Hollington Academy C are still unbeaten after drawing 5-5 at Bexhillians C. Graham Gillett won three for Bexhill while Scott Bills and Fraser Kent both won twice for Academy.

Saints B (Ron Davenport, John Wond, Graham Deeprose) eased their concerns with a 10-0 defeat of Bexhillians D which put them ahead of Tackleway B, 9-1 losers to Tackleway A who had Mike Funnell, Roger Pingram and Roy Funnell unbeaten. The B team took the doubles and Adrian Goodrum was unlucky to come away without a singles win.

Tigers A are beginning to look isolated at the bottom after a 9-1 loss at Bexhillians B, who had Andy Summers and John Ellis unbeaten.


TacklewayD’s lead in Division Two was short-lived as they were held 5-5 by a below-strength Tackleway E. Alan Blackman and Owen Hatter (D team) and Keith Lindsay and Peter Wilson (E) all won twice but the D team lost all three five-game sets at deuce in the fifth.

New leaders are Bexhillians G who beat Hollington A 8-2 with a maximum for Kevin McEwan and two wins for Cameron Jones and Ryan Heselden. Shaun Godfrey picked up both Hollington wins.

Tackleway C moved ahead of Hollington into third place with a 7-3 win at Tigers B in which Andy Brown was unbeaten and Kevin Rowe won twice. Mike Charter picked up two for Tigers.

Bexhillians F had a tight 6-4 win over Hollington B with Harvey Webb unbeaten and two from Ricky Knight while Amelia Long won twice for Hollington.


Division Three leaders Monarchs continued their run with a 9-1 defeat of Tigers C with Andrew Edwards and Alison Jordan unbeaten and Peter Harding winning two.

Tackleway F won 7-3 at at Hollington C through Dan Kildea’s maximum and two wins for Steve Milton and Doug Bick.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page