Observer 09-12-16

Focus in the Hastings & District Table Tennis League shifted to Division 2 this week with the two leading teams playing in adjoining matchrooms at the Tackleway club.

Leaders Bexhillians G were without unbeaten Kevin McEwan and were held to a 5-5 draw by Tackleway E after leading 4-2. Gina Rogers and Keith Lindsay both won twice for Tackleway , as did Ryan Heselden and Ying Wang, deputising for McEwan. Rogers went to five games in all her matches, losing 11-13 in the fifth to Wang, but beating Heselden 12-10 in the decider.

Second placed Tackleway D fared no better as they were also held 5-5 by Tigers B, for whom Mike Charter was unbeaten. Owen Hatter and Alan Blackman both won twice for Tackleway.

In third place, Tackleway C could only maintain the status quo as they too drew 5-5 at NALGO A. Paul Hyland scored a maximum for the home team, while Andy Brown and Kevin Rowe both won twice for Tackleway. Brown scraped past Mike Courtnage in five games to avoid defeat for Tackleway.


The theme of close matches continued in Division One. Bexhillians C won 6-4 at Tackleway B although few of the individual match-ups could be described as close. Graham Gillett won three and Pete Robinson two for Bexhill while Adrian Goodrum won twice for the losers.

Tackleway A lost by the same margin to Hollington Academy B for whom Robin Gibbs was unbeaten and Jamie Martin won two. Roy Funnell won two for Tackleway but Martin held his nerve to beat James Gorridge in four games for the win.

The closest match in Division One saw third-placed Hollington Academy C surprisingly held 5-5 by Bexhillians B. Nick Standen’s maximum and two from Fraser Kent saved the Academics as the last four matches were played on two tables, as the witching hour approached. Brian Busbridge went the distance in all his matches and won two for Bexhill.


Third Division Bexhillians H gained a point on leaders Monarchs with a 9-1 defeat of Tackleway F in which Alan Chumbley and new signing Dave Hazelden were unbeaten and Barry Goodson won two.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page