Observer 08-04-16

Bexhill D clinched the Division 2 title in the Hastings & District Table Tennis League with a 9-1 win over a depleted Tackleway F despite some nerves when Tackleway took an early lead. Bexhill then took control with Brian Beaney and John Bradbury unbeaten and Trevor Towner winning two. Bexhill have led since week 4 and have been beaten only once this season.

Tackleway D, the only team to defeat the champions, now have only a tenuous grip on second place after losing 9-1 to third-placed Hollington Academy D, who had maximums from Kevin Barry and Brian Busbridge and two wins from Ryan Heselden. The Academics trail Tackleway D by a point and have a game in hand.

NALGO A had a narrow 6-4 win over Tigers B with three wins for Paul Hyland and two for Mike Courtnage. Rama Patel won two for Tigers and the match swung on Hyland’s defeat of Roger Smith at 13-11 in the fifth.


Two hard-fought tussles in Division 1 both featured Tina Beaney, playing as a reserve for both Bexhill A and B sides.

Defending champions Bexhill A struggled to beat Hollington Academy C 6-4 when Rob Warner and Martin Kellaway (Bexhill) and Will Goodstone (Academy) all won twice. Beaney ensured the win for Bexhill, beating Academy’s recent signing David Rayment, who had beaten Kellaway and taken Warner the distance.

Tackleway B’s 6-4 win over Bexhill B was even closer with five sets going to five games. Again no player dominated, with Martin Richards and Kevin McEwan (Tackleway) and Andy Summers (Bexhill) all winning twice. At 5-4, and with midnight approaching, Adrian Goodrum, who had lost twice at 9-11 in the decider,

beat Summers to clinch victory.


In Division 3, Hollington D beat Tackleway G 6-4 with a maximum for Ryan Demeza and two from Kieran Gibbs, while Tackleway’s Kevin Eastman also won two.

Leaders Bexhill F beat McPhersons 9-1 when Harvey Webb and Ricky Knight were unbeaten and Malcolm Glover won two.

Hollington B had a 9-1 win over Willett & Phillips through three wins for Amelia Long and Pete Shoesmith and two for Ken Philcox.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page