Observer 27-01-17

League leaders Hollington Academy A were held for the first time this season in Division One of the Hastings & District Table Tennis League as they drew 5-5 with Bexhillians C. The Academics, without their two leading players, found Graham Gillett on top form with a maximum for Bexhill while Basher Obeyed and Chelsea Furnival won twice for the leaders.

Second placed Bexhillians A narrowed the gap to five points with a perfunctory 10-0 win over Tigers A when Rob Warner, Martin Kellaway and David Rayment were unbeaten.

Tackleway A just had the edge over Saints B, winning 6-4 despite a maximum from Saints’ John Wond. Roger Pingram and Roy Funnell both won twice for Tackleway.

Hollington Academy C won 9-1 at Bexhillians D with three wins for Scott Bills and Fraser Kent and two for Nick Standen.  Brian Beaney took Bexhill’s only win at 11-9 in the fifth and also went the distance with Kent.

Hollington Academy B beat Bexhillians B 9-1 with Jamie Martin and Robin Gibbs unbeaten and two from Rose Rainton.


With leaders Bexhillians G having a free week, the chasing pack had an opportunity to cut their lead. Tackleway D, in second place, took advantage by winning 8-2 at Saints C with Owen Hatter and Alan Blackman unbeaten and Phil Toze winning two.

Hollington A had the best of a 6-4 scoreline for the second successive week when they won 6-4 at NALGO A with a Shaun Godfrey maximum and two from Steph Sargent. Paul Hyland won twice for the losers.

Tackleway E drew level with Tackleway C after an 8-2 defeat of the C team in which Gina Rogers and Pete Wilson both won three games.

Also level with the two Tackleway sides are Bexhillian E after edging out Hollington B 6-4. There was another maximum for Bexhill’s Pam Winter, giving her seventeen consecutive wins and two for Paul Welford, while Ryan Demeza won two for Hollington.


In Division Three Tigers C won 7-3 at Willett & Phillips when Phil Talbot was unbeaten and Andy Holmes won two, as did Sue Clarke for the losers.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page