Observer 08-12-17

For the second successive week, Sussex Under-15 player Fraser Kent starred for Hollington Academy C in Division One of the Hastings & District Table Tennis League as they went down 7-3 to leaders Hollington Academy A. Kent’s maximum included a win over previously unbeaten Paul Barry and a 17-15 win in the fifth game over Nathan Darby which literally stopped play on surrounding league match tables in the Academy sports hall. Barry, Darby and Andy Furnival won two each for the A side with Furnival the key man, going the distance for both his wins.

Hollington Academy B beat Bexhill G 7-3 with three wins for Tony Catt and two for Sam Collins. Ryan Heselden won twice for Bexhill who came back from 1-5 to 3-5 down to secure the consolation point.

Second placed Bexhill A gained a point on the leaders with a 9-1 win over Tackleway C, where Rob Warner and David Rayment were unbeaten and Bob Lowe, returning from injury, won twice.

Maximums from Gary Pells and Ron Davenport saw Saints B home 8-2 against Tackleway B.


Some more tight games in Division Two saw leaders Tigers A come from 3-4 down to pip rivals Bexhill E 6-4.  Ryan Warner was unbeaten for the losers but solid teamwork from Tigers won out with two wins for Dave Mitchell, Chris Woods and Roger Smith.

A similar scenario at Tackleway D saw the hosts take control at 3-3 to beat Bexhill H 6-4 with a brace each for Owen Hatter, Keith Lindsay and Alan Blackman, despite an excellent maximum for Bexhill’s Alan Chumbley.

Bexhill D gained their fifth win on the roll with a 6-4 defeat of Hollington A. Trevor Towner, Brian Beaney and Nick Coleman all won twice, as did Hollington’s Shaun Godfrey.


The top two met in Division Three when Tackleway F and Bexhill I drew 5-5. Kevin Eastman was unbeaten for Tackleway while Malcolm Hilton and Dave Chumbley both won two for Bexhill.

Third placed Hollington E narrowed the gap when Rob Clemence won three and Neil Pankhurst two in a 7-3 win at Tackleway G, for whom Zac Allen won two.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page