Observer 17-02-17

Defending champions Bexhillians A kept up their challenge in Division One of the Hastings & District Table Tennis League with an 8-2 win at Tackleway A in which Martin Kellaway and David Rayment were unbeaten, despite a great effort by Tackleway to steal a consolation point. In the opening set, Kellaway came from 2-1 down to Roger Pingram to scrape the fourth 14-12 before cruising away in the decider. Rayment had to come from 2-0 down to beat Roy Funnell in five and, at 6-2 up, Kellaway and then Rayment both won in five games again Funnell and Pingram respectively.

Leaders Hollington Academy A had a more comfortable 8-2 win over Saints B with maximums from Nathan Darby and Basher Obeyed.

Bexhillians C beat Bexhillians D 7-3 with three wins for John Wilson and two from Alan McCleave while John Bradbury won two for the losers. Five matches went the distance but the D side could take only one of them.

Tackleway B eased any relegation fears as they beat bottom side Tigers A 7-3. Adrian Goodrum won three and Martin Richards two for Tackleway while Tigers’ Sheila King also won twice.


Second Division leaders Bexhillians G were held 5-5 by NALGO A thanks mainly to a fine maximum from NALGO’s Paul Hyland. Ryan Heselden and Kevin McEwan both won twice for Bexhill; McEwan, whose loss to Hyland was his first of the season, was doubling up for Bexhill D in Division One on the adjacent table.

Tackleway E (Keith Lindsay, Gina Rogers and Peter Wilson) moved into second place with a 10-0 dismissal of Hollington B.

Tackleway D and Bexhillians E drew 5-5 with Tina Beaney winning three for Bexhill and Owen Hatter and Alan Blackman two apiece for Tackleway.

In a third drawn game in this Division, Tigers B shared the points with Hollington A when Shaun Godfrey was unbeaten for Hollington and Chris Woods and Roger Smith both won two for Tigers.


In Division Three, Monarchs beat Tackleway F 7-3, despite Simon Newstead’s maximum for the losers, with Alison Jordan, Andrew Edwards and Peter Harding picking up two each.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page