Observer 07-04-17

Bexhillians G claimed the first silverware of the season by clinching the Division Two title in the Hastings & District Table Tennis League with a 7-3 defeat of second-placed Tackleway E. Kevin McEwan, Ryan Heselden and Cameron Jones all won twice for the champions but were all beaten by an outstanding display from Tackleway’s Gina Rogers which included only the second defeat of the season for McEwan.

Tackleway’s defeat means they now face a struggle for second place with their own clubmates. Tackleway C, however, could only draw 5-5 with NALGO A who had a maximum from Paul Hyland. Kevin Rowe and Andy Brown both won two for Tackleway.

Tackleway D are still in contention after a good 7-3 win at Tigers B in which Owen Hatter and Alan Blackman were unbeaten.


Division One leaders Hollington Academy A dropped a surprise point to Tigers A in a 7-3 win. Paul Barry was unbeaten and Basher Obeyed won two but two wins for Tony Catt and Dave Mitchell’s defeat of Stacey Furnival in five games gained a welcome point for the losers.

A weakened Hollington Academy B drop to third after their 5-5 draw with Tackleway A.  Robin Gibbs’ maximum kept the Academics in the game while Roy Funnell and Roger Pingram won two apiece for Tackleway.

Bexhillians A moved back into second with a 9-1 win at Saints B in which David Rayment and Tina Beaney were unbeaten and Lewis Mayhew won twice. Ron Davenport had an excellent five-game win over Mayhew, which was some compensation for losing both his other games at 9-11 in the fifth.

James Beale marked his debut for Bexhillians C with a maximum in the 7-3 win over Tackleway B. John Wilson won twice for Bexhill as did Martin Richards for the losers.

Nick Standen and Fraser Kent were both unbeaten for Hollington Academy C in a 7-3 win at Bexhillians B.


In Division Three, five sets required a deciding game before NALGO B beat Hollington C 6-4. Ron Spencer won three and John Robertson two for NALGO while Kevin Young won two for Hollington. 

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page