Observer 26-10-18

With the postponement of the much anticipated clash between the top two, Hollington Academy A and Bexhill A, in the Hastings & District Table Tennis League Division One, Saints A took the opportunity to open a clear lead.

Saints beat Bexhill D 9-1 with Dave Butler and James Winchester, making his first appearance of the season, both unbeaten and John Wond winning twice.

A more competitive contest saw Bexhill C, still without the injured Graham Gillett, draw 5-5 with Bexhill B. A maximum from Andy Chapman kept the C team in the hunt while Andy Summers and Yotza Krstic both won twice for the B side.

Hollington Academy D beat the pointless Bexhill E 8-2 with Stacey Furnival unbeaten and Andy Furnival and Graham Deeprose winning twice.

Hollington Academy C again had to concede three singles but still beat Tackleway B 6-4 with Sam Collins winning three and Scott Bills two.


After last week’s draw, Saints B brought out the big guns against Bexhill G in Division 2 and Ron Davenport and Jamie Martin were both unbeaten in a 7-3 win.

Saints trail Hollington A by a point after Hollington’s 7-3 win over Bexhill H with Shaun Godfrey and Kevin Barry both winning three.

Hollington B picked up their first win when they won 6-4 at Nalgo A with Rob Clemence unbeaten and Neil Pankhurst winning two, as did Mike Courtnage for the losers.

Harvey Webb’s maximum for Bexhill F against Tigers A just failed to gain a share of the points as Bexhill lost 6-4. Chris Woods and Dave Mitchell both won two for Tigers with Woods losing to Webb 9-11 in the decider.


Early Third Division leaders Willett & Phillips lost top spot after going down 7-3 to Saints C for whom Dave Watters and Andy Murphy were unbeaten.

Hollington C now lead despite only drawing at Hollington E.  Yasar Akar was unbeaten for the E team while Pete Shoesmith won two for the leaders.

Jim Leppard’s maximum for Bexhill I helped his side to a 5-5 draw with Tigers B who had two wins each from Andy Holmes and Chris Floyd.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page