Observer 02-03-18

It was business as usual at the top of  Division One of the Hastings & District Table Tennis League with the leading duo both enjoying comfortable victories. League leaders Hollington Academy A eased past Saints A 8-2, despite Paul Barry being ill and conceding his final game. Nathan Darby was unbeaten for Academics and Basher Obeyed and Barry won two each.

Bexhill A beat Bexhill G 10-0 with maximums for David Rayment, Bob Lowe and Ryan Warner, although four of the sets went to five games.

This defeat means Bexhill G drop into a relegation spot after Tackleway C took a 5-5 draw from their visit to Hollington Academy C, for whom Fraser Kent was unbeaten.

Tackleway gained from Nick Standen’s misfortune as his shoulder injury forced him to concede two sets.

Bottom side Tackleway B closed the gap to Bexhill G with their 5-5 result against Tackleway A. Roy Funnell won three for the A side and Mike Funnell two, as did Gina Rogers for the B team.


Dave Wilson’s maximum for Tackleway E was not enough to prevent Division Two leaders Tigers A from winning 6-4 with two wins each for Dave Mitchell, Roger Smith and Chris Woods.

Tigers’ lead is now pegged back to three points after Bexhill E beat Bexhill F 8-2 with Tina Beaney unbeaten and two wins for Paul Welford and Dan Starnes. Harvey Webb won twice for the F team.

Kevin Barry’s maximum kept Hollington Academy D in the match in a 5-5 draw with Hollington A, who had two wins each from Shaun Godfrey and Steph Sargeant.

Godfrey’s five-game defeat to Barry means he loses top spot in the divisional averages to Paul Hyland  who was unbeaten in Nalgo A’s 7-3 win over Monarchs A.

Mike Courtnage (Nalgo) and Alison Jordan (Monarchs) both won twice.


In Division Three, Tackleway F won 9-1 at Saints C with three wins for Doug Bick and Kevin Eastman and two for Steve Milton.

Bexhill I beat Hollington D 8-2 with a maximum for Malcolm Hilton and two from Tristan Hyland and Jim Leppard. Yasar Akar picked up both wins for Hollington.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page