Observer 30-03-18

In Division One of the Hastings & District Table Tennis League, Bexhill B were the only team in the bottom four to win as their 8-2 defeat of Saints B moved them above their opponents into eighth place. Andy Summers won three and John Ellis and Yotza Krstic two each for Bexhill, while John Wond won twice for the losers.

Bexhill G were unable to take advantage of a below-strength Saints A and went down 7-3 with Saints’ Dave Butler unbeaten and Adam Keen winning twice.

Hollington Academy A retained their grip at the top with an 8-2 win over bottom team Tackleway B with Paul Barry and Nathan Darby unbeaten and Andy Furnival winning two.


Second Division leaders Bexhill E overcame Hollington A, who were without Shaun Godfrey, 9-1, with three wins for Pam Winter and Tina Beaney and two for Paul Welford.

Long time leaders Tigers A, who have a game in hand, won a competitive contest with Tackleway D 7-3. Tigers had three wins from Dave Mitchell and two from Chris Woods while Owen Hatter won two for the losers.

Basement team Hollington B can see a glimmer of light after beating Bexhill F 7-3 with Amelia Long unbeaten and Ryan Demeza winning twice, as did Harvey Webb for the losers who are now in the relegation zone themselves.

Bexhill H helped their cause with a 7-3 win at Nalgo A with an Andy Panayi maximum and two from Chris Hack. Paul Hyland won two for Nalgo.


The Division Three title chase could go to the wire, with Hollington E picking up two wins in a week. Paulette Clarke’s two wins for Saints C kept it close before a maximum from Rob Clemence and two from Neil Pankhurst saw Hollington home 6-4.

Tackleway F beat Tigers B 6-4 with maximums from Steve Milton and Doug Bick to stay third.

Leaders Bexhill I won 7-3 at Tackleway G with two wins each for Malcolm Hilton, Tristan Hyland and Jim Leppard. Zac Allen won three for Tackleway, as he also did when playing up in Division Two for the E side.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page