Observer 20-04-18

Approaching the final week of the Hastings & District Table Tennis League, plus a cluster of postponed matches, the penultimate week’s games settled a number of  key issues.

Bexhill E are Division Two champions after a 6-4 win over Tackleway D when Tina Beaney was unbeaten and Alan Blackman won twice for Tackleway. Twenty-four hours later, long-term leaders Tigers A went down 10-0 to Bexhill D to end their chances. Brian Beaney, John Bradbury and Andy Panayi were unbeaten for Bexhill, with Panayi making his second appearance for the club and his first for the D team.

At the other end of the table, Bexhill F maintained their two point advantage over Bexhill H with a 6-4 win despite Chris Hack’s maximum for the losers. Harvey Webb and Malcolm Glover both won two for the F side.


In Division One, Tackleway B are relegated after losing 9-1 at Saints A for whom Dave Butler and James Winchester won three and Andy Syrettt two.

Leaders Hollington Academy A won 8-2 against Tackleway C with Paul Barry and Basher Obeyed unbeaten, a result which leaves Tackleway C favourites to join their clubmates in the drop.

Second-placed Bexhill A beat Tackleway A 7-3 with Martin Kellaway unbeaten and Ryan Warner winning two while Roy Funnell won twice for the losers.

Four points from their last two games will secure the title for the Academics.

Probably the best match of the week saw Bexhill C win 6-4 at Hollington Academy B despite a maximum from Rose Rainton for Academy. Graham Gillett and John Wilson won two each for Bexhill.


Division Three leaders Bexhill I completed their fixtures with a 5-5 draw with Hollington E for whom Rob Clemence won three and Neil Pankhurst two. Although Bexhill are still top, it means they cannot win the league as rivals Hollington E and Tackleway F still have to play each other. To add to the irony, Bexhill are unbeaten but will be ruing their four drawn games.

Tackleway F maintained the pressure with a 9-1- defeat of Willett & Phillips in which Doug Bick and Kevin Bignell were unbeaten and Steve Milton won two.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page