Observer 11-05-18

Bexhill E are Second Division champions in the Hastings & District Table Tennis League after a remarkable second half to the season when they won every match.

Tina Beaney, Pam Winter and Paul Welford became the third Bexhill outfit to take the title in the last three seasons.

The title had seemed destined for Tigers A (Chris Woods, Dave Mitchell, Roger Smith) unbeaten at halfway, only for them to lose three times in their last five matches.

Third place was claimed on sets by the experienced Bexhill D, led by Brian Beaney, but their season was dogged by injury.

Tackleway D, another experienced squad, were fourth, with good seasons from Owen Hatter and Alan Blackman.

Hollington B and newly promoted Monarchs A finished in the relegation slots although both teams had their moments during the season.


The individual standard in Division Two has been exceptional with four outstanding players covered by a mere 4% at the top of the averages. NALGO A’s Paul Hyland, who recently retained his Second Division Singles title, also finished top of the averages with 91%, narrowly pipping Hollington’s Shaun Godfrey. Tina Beaney (Bexhill E) and Kevin Barry (Hollington Academy D) were also within touching distance.


Division Three provided the closest finish of the season with three teams in contention throughout.  Worthy champions Hollington E (Rob Clemence, Neil Pankhurst and Trevor Fountain) claimed the prize by one point over Tackleway F

(Kevin Eastman, Doug Bick, Steve Milton, Kevin Bignell). Bexhill I, led by Malcolm Hilton, will be disappointed to finish third as they were unbeaten throughout, but four drawn games eventually cost them.

Hollington dropped points in the first half, but came through despite having to face Dan Starnes twice for Bexhill.

Saints C were fourth from November and Andy Murphy’s maximum against the champions was almost enough to deny them the title.


Clemence (96%) was top of the averages, followed by Eastman and Bignell, the much-improved Zachary Allen (Tackleway G) and Paulette Clarke (Saints C).

Amongst the juniors, Yasar Akar (Hollington D) and Tristan Hyland (Bexhill I), in his first season, also showed great improvement.

Sacha Ward (Hollington D) was the youngest player at 14.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page