Woodward Cup 2017-18

Woodward Handicap Cup 2018


This individual handicap competition was played during the week commencing Monday 26th March 2018.


Three sessions were held during the week: one at Bexhill, one at Tackleway and one at Hollington, and the final was played at Hollington on Saturday 31st March.  The eight winners who contested the final were:- Andy Summers (Bexhillians), Chris Floyd and Andy Holmes (Tigers), Paul Hyland (Nalgo), Kieran Gibbs and Yasar Akar (Hollington), Stuart Pattenden (Monarchs) and Scott Bills (Hollington Academy).


In the first quarter-final Kieran (Division 2) triumphed over Yasar (Division 3) by

19-21, 21-16, 21-14, having received a one point start.  Then Paul (Division 2) beat Stuart (Division 3) 21-17, 21-18, having given away 14 points in each game.  The third quarter-final produced a 21-14, 21-18 win for Andy Summers (Division 1) over Andy Holmes (Division 3), who received a 13 point start.  Chris (Division 3) completed the semi-final line-up by defeating Scott (Division 1)

21-10, 21-1, helped by a 15 point start.


In the first semi-final Kieran overcame Paul 21-14, 21-10, having received a 9 point start, and then Chris beat Andy 21-19, 21-13, aided by a 15 point start.


In a closely contested final Kieran triumphed 21-19, 10-21, 21-16 over Chris, who started each game with 10 points.


This was Kieran’s third appearance in the final session – in 2015 he lost in the quarter-finals and a year ago he made it to the semi-finals.


Keith Lindsay, President-Elect of the Hastings & District Table Tennis Association, made the presentations.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page