Observer 01-02-19

The top three all won in Division One of the Hastings & District Table Tennis League

but Saints A were alone in claiming maximum points from an 8-2 defeat of Hollington Academy D in which Dave Butler and James Winchester were unbeaten.

This moved Saints into second place on sets behind Hollington Academy A who beat Bexhill C 7-3 with maximums from Paul Barry and Nathan Darby.

Third placed Bexhill A also dropped a point but, given their injury situation they will be the happier. David Rayment won three and Ryan Warner two as Bexhill beat Hollington Academy B 6-4, with Rose Rainton winning two for the losers.

Towards the foot of the table, Bexhill D are on a bit of a roll as they beat Hollington Academy C 6-4 with two wins each for Cameron Jones and Kevin McEwan, despite a maximum for Academics’ Arthur Bracken.

Rivals Tackleway B brought in new signing John Dyson and he was unbeaten in the 7-3 win over Tackleway A. Roger Pingram and Sue Pingram both won two for the A side.


At the top of Division Two, the gap narrowed to a single point as second placed Hollington A beat Hollington B 9-1 with three from Shaun Godfrey and Kevin Barry and two from Steph Sargent.

Leaders Saints B edged past Bexhill H 6-4 with Ron Davenport unbeaten and Jamie Martin winning twice. Andy Panayi got a late call-up for Bexhill which left him with his own bat but no other sports kit but he still won two for the team.

Paul Hyland was unbeaten for Nalgo A in a 5-5 draw with Tigers A for whom Roger Smith and Dave Mitchell both won two.

Another draw came from the visit of Monarchs A to Tackleway D where Bob Lowe

won three for the visitors and Alan Blackman and Owen Hatter two each for Tackleway.


In Division Three, Hollington E and Tigers B drew 5-5 when Chris Floyd had a maximum and Andy Holmes won two for Tigers and Tristan Hyland won two foe Hollington.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page