Observer 15-03-19

Saints C clinched the Division Three title in the Hastings & District Table Tennis League with four weeks to spare with a 9-1 defeat of under-strength Hollington D in which Dave Watters and Paulette Clarke were unbeaten. Trevor Fountain earned Hollington’s only success with  a narrow win over Danny Gurden. 

Saints, who have won all sixteen matches, also include Andy Murphy in their squad.

Second placed Hollington C needed a Pete Shoesmith maximum to gain a 5-5 draw with Tackleway F for whom Brian Leggett and Kevin Eastman both won twice.

Bexhill I enjoyed their biggest win of the season with a 9-1 win at Tackleway G in which Jim Leppard and John Templeton were unbeaten and Jason Ward won two.

Willett & Phillips beat Nalgo B 9-1 with three wins from Ken McEwan and Phil Bailey and two from Barry Turnwell.


In Division Two, the much anticipated meeting of the top two, Saints B and Hollington A, resulted in a predictable 5-5 draw after a titanic clash. Hollington had a fine maximum from Kevin Barry and two wins from Shaun Godfrey while Ron Davenport won two for Saints. Barry beat Davenport 13-11 in the fifth in a set of five deuces with the match score at 4-4. Saints had started with Davenport beating Godfrey, also in five games, but Saints stayed in the match virtue of Andre Keen’s win over Steph Sargeant at 11-9 in the fifth. The two remain locked together at the top.

Tackleway C are third but did themselves no favours in going down 6-4 at Bexhill G.

John Bradbury, Brian Beaney and Tina Beaney all won two for Bexhill, as did Dan Rickaby for Tackleway.

Mike Charter and Keith Lindsay both won two for Tackleway E who edged out Nalgo A 6-4, despite Paul Hyland’s maximum for the losers.

In another tight match, Tackleway D beat Bexhill F 6-4 as five sets needed a final game.  Owen Hatter won three and Alan Blackman two for Tackleway while Norman Beaney won two for Bexhill.

Chris Hack’s maximum led Bexhill H to a 7-3 defeat of Tigers A. Dan Starnes took two for the winners as did Tigers’ Dave Mitchell.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page