Observer 31-01-20

Second placed Bexhill A had a key victory in Division One of the Hastings & District Table Tennis League as they won 7-3 at third placed Hastings Academy B. Martin Kapusta and Lewis Mayhew were unbeaten for Bexhill although Kapusta had to come from 1-2 down to beat James Winchester.

Academy A steamrollered bottom side Academy F 10-0 to establish a one point lead through Paul Barry, Ryan Heselden and Jamie Martin.

Academy B are now six points adrift of Bexhill and have been joined on 38 points by Academy D (Andrew Martin, Arthur Bracken and Nick Standen) who cruised past Bexhill D 10-0.

A fiercely contested Tackleway derby saw the A team edge out the B team 6-4. Combination bat man John Dyson kept the B team in it with a maximum, but Roy Funnell, Mike Funnell and James Gorridge all won two for the A side, who won four of the five contests going to five games.

Rose Rainton will miss most, if not all, of the rest of the season for Academy C and her side missed her in a 6-4 defeat at Hollington A, despite Tony Catt’s maximum. Shaun Godfrey and Kevin Barry won two each for Hollington.


Division Two is becoming a three-horse race which Tackleway C still lead after beating Academy H 7-3. Jamie Martin won three for the Academics while Adrian Goodrum, Kevin Rowe and Mike Charter all won two for the winners.

Bexhill G got a point closer after beating Bexhill F 8-2 with a John Bradbury maximum and two from Chris Hack and Harry French.

Academy E are third with a game in hand after beating Nalgo A 7-3 when Terry Dean was unbeaten and Chelsea Britt and Graham Deeprose won two, as did Paul Hyland for Nalgo.


Hollington C lead Division Three by a whisker after beating Tackleway G 8-2 with a maximum for Keith Young and two wins each for Mick Oakman and Pete Shoesmith.

Level on points but in third place are Tackleway F who beat Hollington D 8-2 with Stephen Milton and Peter Saunders unbeaten.

Author: via Hastings Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page