April Update

This season is rapidly reaching its conclusion, with this week being the last week of *scheduled* League matches, whilst the Cup & Plate Finals take place next Tuesday.

A number of issues are decided, and so congratulations to the new Division 2 & Division 3 Champions :-
  Division 2  -  Flamstead A  (Jack Reyland, John Stock, Allan Dennis, Brian Hudson + substitutes)
  Division 3  -  St. Georges 1st  (Gerry Evans, Jackie Channell, Chris Ward, Tim Boyall, John Figg)

In addition, Adeyfield C  (Mariusz Puczynski, Bob Sapuan, Roger Dean, Trevor McFarlane, Scott Boyer) have clinched the runners-up spot in Division 3, whilst Crown & Sceptre B (Ian Cooper, Paul Bohknecht, Dave Easey, Graham Jeynes + substitutes) have today clinched the Division 2 runners-up spot.

Division 1 is technically still a 3-horse race, although in reality, it will be one of the two 'usuals', i.e. Crown & Sceptre 1st or Adeyfield 1st, with Adeyfield 1st trailing by 21 points, with two matches in hand.  St. Michaels look set to finish 3rd in their first outing in the top division, despite only one loss all season!!  At the other end, Northchurch 1st will finish bottom, with Flamstead 1st and Adeyfield A battling it out to avoid the second relegation spot.

In Division 2, the top positions are decided, but at the other end of the table, Adeyfield B will finish last, whilst Kings Langley CC 1st appear to be too far back to avoid finishing 7th.

The Wren Cup Final will feature the reigning Cup holders, Adeyfield 1st, against St. Michaels, last year's runners-up, so a repeat of last season's Final.  The Wren Plate Final will see Crown & Sceptre A take on Adeyfield C.

As separately reported, in this season's Closed Championships, the new Open Singles Champion was Ken Stonebridge, winning his first Open Singles title and thus becoming the oldest player to win the title in the League's history. In also winning the Veterans' Singles and the Super Veterans' Singles, he took his overall title haul over the years to an impressive 23, thus overtaking the 22 titles that League legend Glen Wilkes has won.  However, in winning both the Ladies' Singles and the Mixed Doubles (with team mate, John Figg), Jackie Channell has extended her number of titles won to a staggering 43. In other events, Dave Gomm & Alan Thomas teamed up to win the Men's Doubles, whilst Barabara Bart & Gil Salter paired up to win the Ladies' Doubles. Les Leech was the Handicap Singles winner for a second time, Harry Hook won the Junior Singles, whilst the Division 2 and Division 3 Restricted Singles went, respectively, to John Stock and John Figg. Finally, John Figg collected a 3rd title, in combination with Roger Dean, in the Random Doubles. 

The final conclusion to the season will be the League AGM, which takes place at Adeyfield Hall on Tuesday, 19th May, starting at 8pm. Any Rule Change proposals should be sent to someone on the Committee.

Author: via Hemel Hempstead Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page