Horsham Spinners TTC Circuit November 2014
James Claims Gold
event played at the Horsham Spinners TTC venue, Forest School on Saturday 9th
November, attracted a full entry of 35 players, playing on eight tables. There
were 13 entrants from the host club, as well as eight more from the club’s
school feeder network. There were three ability bands, with medals complete with
the new Horsham Spinners TTC logo for the top three in each band. On the whole,
Horsham Spinners TTC players had a good day, claiming the top two spots in both
Bands A and B.
Band A:
This was two groups of four players, with the top two players from each
initial group, advancing to the top group in the second round and the remaining
two players going into the lower group. Group 1 was won by favourite James
Arnold, of the host club. Horsham Spinners club-mate, Will Michell took second
place with a hard fought victory over Ryan Darwen (Bognor Regis TTC) 10-12,
15-13, 8-11, 11-5, 11-9. Kieran Bonner also of Horsham Spinners was fourth. In
Group 2 second seed, Joe Russell (Brighton City TTC) was upset by Anish Padalkar
(Horsham Spinners TTC) 12-10 in the fifth, after Russell had saved two match
points. Russell only just overcame another Spinners player, Joe Worskett 11-8 in
the fifth. The match between Padalkar & Worskett raised some eyebrows in
that Padalkar won the second game 11-0, despite the two players being of similar
ability. The other two games were 12-10 and 14-12. Louis Zanden (St. Michael’s
TTC) had a few close games, but on this occasion was not successful.
In the top group Padalkar had an absolute cracker vs Michell, which went to
12-10 in the fifth, with Padalkar the victor. Arnold won three close games vs
Russell and won in four vs Padalkar to grab the gold medal. Padalkar got silver
and Russell won the bronze medal match vs Michell in four ends. In the lower
group it was Worskett who prevailed, winning both his remaining matches 3-0,
although five of the six games were close. Darwen was group runner-up, Bonner
third and Zanden fourth.
Band B:
Band B was played in the exact same format as Band A. Favourite Samuel
Shoubridge (Horsham Spinners TTC) won Group 1 without dropping any games, but
Jacob Evans (Horsham TTC), took him close in all three games. Evans was group
runner-up, as he just got over the line vs Luke Darwen of Bognor Regis TTC 11-9
in the decider. Josh Hayes (Holbrook School TTC) did extremely well to overcome
the more experienced Darwen to get third in the group. In Group 2, diminutive
eight-year old Harry Filson (Horsham Spinners TTC) won all of his matches,
including a good 3-0 win over group runner-up Jiayuan Jin (Rosehill TTC), who
recently won 9/10 matches in division 3 of National Cadet League in Horsham.
Matt Weller (Horsham Spinners TTC) got third in the group and Zach Hodges
(Horsham Spinners TTC) was fourth.
In Group A in the second round it was Shoubridge who came through to get
the gold medal. He just pipped Jin to the post in an exciting 11-9 in the fifth
win, but had an easy straight sets victory over Filson. Both Jin & Filson
beat Evans, which meant that Filson got the silver medal and Jin the bronze. In
Group B, nine-year-old prospect, Hodges picked himself up from a disappointing
initial group to get first place. He beat Hayes 3-0, before a stupendous come
back from 10-3 down in the final game to win 14-12 over nearly nine-year-old
Darwen! The overall score in that match was 11-9, 11-8, 10-12, 10-12, 14-12,
showing there is nothing between these two. Hodges then went on to exact revenge
on Weller, who had beaten him earlier, winning 7-11, 11-9, 11-9, 11-9. Weller
came second in the group and Darwen third, as he overturned his earlier defeat
to Hayes.
Band C:
Band C had 19 entrants in three groups of five and one group of four. Group
1 was dominated by Stuart Li-Tremble (West Chiltington TTC). Johnny Griffiths
(Warden Park TTC) came second. James Li-Tremble (West Chiltington TTC) swept
aside the opposition in Group 2, with George Allan (Horsham TTC) doing well to
get second place. Group 3 was won by surprise package Max Mildren (Horsham
Spinners TTC), who impressed both HSTTC coaches/organisers, only dropping one
end in his four matches. Callum Davies (West Chiltington TTC) got the runners-up
spot. Another outsider 8-year-old Max Fitzsimmons (Southwater Junior Academy
TTC), proved his ability by winning Group 4. He came second last in his previous
tournament, but now armed with a new spinny bat, he did much better. He has
hardly had any coaching or experience in the game, so early signs suggest he
could have a great future in the game, if he trains hard & receives good
coaching. His best result was an 11-7 in the fifth win over group favourite,
Ollie Thorne (Horsham Spinners TTC). Thorne was the group runner-up.
For the second round, group winners went into Group A, runners-up went into
Group B and so on down to Group E. The Li-Tremble brothers stamped their
authority on Group A, with James, the older brother winning the sibling battle
3-0. Stuart got the silver medal and Fitzsimmons won the battle of the Max’s to
get the bronze. In Group B it was much closer, with three of the matches going
the distance. Griffiths was the winner with two wins, plus a walkover vs Callum
Davies, who appears to have left early without playing Griffiths. There was a
three-way count back for the remaining positions, as they all won one each. As
Davies conceded a walkover, he came last in the group and Thorne got second, as
he beat Allan. Alex Berriman won Group C, with brother Sam Berriman (Southwater
Junior Academy TTC) coming second on count back. Group D was won by Samuel
Davies (West Chiltington TTC) with Archie Fitzsimmons (Southwater Junior Academy
TTC) in the runners-up position. Finally Group E was won by Liam Hayes (Holbrook
School TTC), with Charlie Burrow in second place.
Report by Rory Scott (Referee)
Final Positions:
Band A:
1) James Arnold (Horsham Spinners TTC)
2) Anish Padalkar (Horsham Spinners TTC)
3) Joe Russell (Brighton City TTC)
4) Will Michell (Horsham Spinners TTC)
5) Joe Worskett (Horsham Spinners TTC)
6) Ryan Darwen (Bognor Regis TTC)
7) Kieran Bonner (Horsham Spinners TTC)
8) Louis Zanden (St. Michael’s TTC)
Band B:
1) Samuel Shoubridge (Horsham Spinners TTC)
2) Harry Filson (Horsham Spinners TTC)
3) Jiayuan Jin (Rosehill TTC)
4) Jacob Evans (Horsham TTC)
5) Zach Hodges (Horsham Spinners TTC)
6) Matt Weller (Horsham Spinners TTC)
7) Luke Darwen (Bognor Regis TTC)
8) Josh Hayes (Holbrook School TTC)
Band C:
1) James Li-Tremble (West Chiltington TTC)
2) Stuart Li-Tremble (West Chiltington TTC)
3) Max Fitzsimmons (Southwater Junior Academy TTC)
4) Max Mildren (Horsham Spinners TTC)
5) Johnny Griffiths (Warden Park TTC)
6) Ollie Thorne (Horsham Spinners TTC)
7) George Allan (Horsham Spinners TTC)
8) Callum Davies (West Chiltington TTC)
9) Alex Berriman (no club)
10) Sam Berriman (Southwater Junior Academy TTC)
11) Owen Brown (Horsham Spinners TTC)
12) Ellie Simmonds (West Chiltington TTC)
13) Samuel Davies (West Chiltington TTC)
14) Archie Fitzsimmons (Southwater Junior Academy TTC)
15) Louie Harris (Heron Way School TTC)
16) Leighton Read (Holbrook School TTC)
17) Liam Hayes (Holbrook School TTC)
18) Charlie Burrow (Castlewood School TTC)
19) Jack Burrow (Castlewood School TTC)
Southwater Junior Academy, Holbrook School and Heron Way School are all in
Horsham Spinners TTC’s school feeder network. Castlewood School is in Horsham
TTC’s school feeder network.
Author: via Horsham Spinners Table Tennis Club
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page