GREYSTONE LLC sponsered Island Junior Championships

GREYSTONE LLC sponsored Island Junior Table Tennis Championships


These championships were held in the main hall at the NSC on Saturday 16 March 2013.



15 players took part. They were divided into four groups and competed on a round robin basis to determine the two players in each group who would proceed to the quarter-finals.


Group A was won by the eventual championship winner Juan Moore with Corin Haddock being placed second in the group by beating Tom Noble 7/11, 11/9, 11/5, 11/4.


Group B was dominated by Harry Walters who won his three matches. Zak Walker went through on countback based on sets won and lost as he, Billy Cain and Archie McLeod each won one match. 


Alex Phillips topped group C with three wins after beating Kerenza Baker in five sets. Kerenza came second with wins over both James Strickett, third, and James Boles who was unlucky to lose 10/12 in his fifth set against Strickett.


Max Walker won his three matches and Billy Coulter came second with wins over Rory McLeod and Kitty Thomas who avoided the wooden spoon by beating Rory.


Each of the group winners won their quarter-finals although Max Walker was taken to a fourth set by Kerenza Baker. Harry Walters won the first semi-final 11/7, 11/5, 13/11 against Max Walker to reach the final with Juan Moore who had beaten Alex Phillips 11/4, 11/9, 11/8.


Juan showed that a season in the senior league had sharpened his game as he swept past the junior league’s Harry 11/5, 11/5, 11/7.




There were seven players in this age group and after the group matches Juan Moore, Nathan Evans, Wael Kassim and Pedro Cardoso made it through to the semi-final stages as Ryan Dodd, Harry Walters and Max Walker failed to win any of their matches.


The semi-finals were won by Wael who beat Nathan 11/8, 11/4, 11/6 and Pedro who was pushed to the limit by Juan, but battled through 13/15, 11/4, 12/10, 14/16, 11/4.


Hard batter Wael proved to be too consistent for Pedro and took the title 11/6, 11/9, 11/6.



This title which was won by Copy Shop’s Sean Drewry who beat the runner-up Strathy’s Hadyn McLarney 3/11, 11/6, 11/5, 11/8. Both finalists had beaten Aaron Faragher and Wael Kassim who came third courtesy of having beaten Aaron 11/4, 11/3, 11/9.



Yet to be played.





Author: via Isle Of Man Table Tennis Association
Article Published:
Share This Page