Prize Presentation Report 2015



This year’s IOMTTA prize presentation evening was held at the Douglas Yacht Club. Edward Howland representing Greystone LLC kindly attended to award the Island Closed Championships trophies and was happy to present some of the other prizes as well. There were few surprises as the winners of most of the trophies are known in advance but there are some discretionary awards and this always causes an element of expectation and speculation.

One of the most deserved awards was made by Nola Baker to our super-veteran Pat Halliwell who was delighted to receive the Gordon Baker Trophy for service to table tennis. As well as captaining our only all girls team Pat helps out with training for Copy Shop at Centre 21 every Friday evening and also for the South and Douglas Manx Youth Games sessions training sessions.

Sean Drewry picked-up the Division One League Championship Trophy, the mixed doubles title with his Copy Shop team-mate Ladies Champion Jane Kneale, and the Harold Wilcock Hard Bat Trophy as well as the senior and junior Top 12 awards. This meant that Sean retained the Malcolm Looker Memorial Trophy. Malcolm, who passed away in 2012, was also a Copy Shop player and no doubt would have been pleased to see his old club was once again prominent in the prizes.

The Glyn Gilbert Trophy went to the veteran of the year Colin Brown who presents our reports on Manx Radio and successfully captained Travellers B to gain promotion to the First Division. Towards the end of the season Colin also acted as a super-sub to help ensure that the Travellers A team was not demoted to the Second Division.

At the other end of the age spectrum Jack Craik from Surestrike Ramsey E was awarded the Ronnie Clough Trophy as the best junior newcomer and Kitty Thomas from Copy Shop E took the Maria Bubb Trophy awarded to the best U’11 girl player. Juan Moore from Travellers D had a 69 per cent win ratio in the Second Division and retained his U’14 title which made him the natural choice for the most improved player award. 

The full list of award winners is shown below: 

2014/15 Table Tennis League

Sponsored by:

DLP Adapted Bathrooms


Copy Shop A

 Division 1 Runners up

ABC Arborists

 Division 2 Champions

Travellers B

 Division 2 Runners up

Copy Shop B

 Division 3 Champions

Surestrike Ramsey C

 Division 3 Runners up

Victory Roll Saints

Divisional Championships

Sponsor - DLP Adapted Bathrooms

Division 1 Singles Champion

Ronan McDonnell

Division 1 Singles Runner up

Sam Bailey

Division 2 Singles Champion

Tim Baker

Division 2 Singles Runner up

Paul Mathieson-Nelson

Division 3 Singles Champion

Matt Harvey

Division 3 Singles Runner up

Billy Cain

Top Twelve Tournament

Sponsored by Isle of Man Bank


Sean Drewry

Runner up

Paul Corran

Island Closed Championships

Sponsored by Greystone LLC

Men’s Singles Champion

Liam Chan

Men’s Singles Runner up

Paul Corran

Men’s Doubles Champions

Paul Corran & Hadyn McLarney

Men’s Doubles Runners up

Tim Baker & Rhys Yardley

Ladies Singles Champion

Jane Kneale

Ladies Singles Runner Up

Maggie Mulhern

Mixed Doubles Champions

Jane Kneale & Sean Drewry

Mixed Doubles Runners up

Maggie Mulhern & Hadyn McLarney

Island Junior Championships

Sponsored by Greystone LLC

Under 12 Singles Champion

Zac Walker

Under 12 Singles Runner Up

Tyler Hannay

Under 14 Singles Champion

Juan Moore

Under 14 Singles Runner Up

Harry Walters

Under 16 Singles Champion

Harry Walters

Under 16 Singles Runner Up

Juan Moore

Under 18 Singles Champion

Hadyn McLarney

Under 18 Singles Runner Up

Sean  Drewry

Junior Girls Singles Champion

Freya Melvin

Junior Girls Singles Runner Up

Kerenza Baker

Veterans Championships

Sponsored by Greystone LLC

Men’s Over 40 Champion

Liam Chan

Men’s Over 40 Runner Up

Julian Briercliffe

Men’s Over 50 Champion

Andy Horne

Men’s Over 50 Runner Up

Graham McFarlane

Men’s Over 60 Champion

Graham McFarlane

Men’s Over 60 Runner up

Steve Curtis

Ladies Over 40 Champion

Maggie Mulhern

Ladies Over 40 Runner up

Margaret Forsyth

Men’s Doubles Over 40 Champions

Liam Chan & Mike Tamarov

Men’s Doubles Over 40 Runners up

Andy Horne & Julian Briercliffe

Mixed Doubles Over 40 Champions

G. McFarlane & Margaret Forsyth

Mixed Doubles Over 40 Runners up

Steve Curtis & Jackie Gill

Malcolm Looker Memorial Trophy

Junior Top 12 Champion

Sean Drewry

Junior Top 12 Runner Up

Keeran Chan

Fun Doubles Winners

Maurice Campbell & Adam Davies

Fun Doubles Runners Up

Colin Brown & Steve Walters

Harold Wilcock Hard Bat Champion

Sean Drewry

Harold Wilcock Hard Bat Runner up

Andy Horne

Discretionary Awards

Most improved player

Juan Moore

Ronnie Clough Trophy (Best junior newcomer)

Jack Craik

Tony Brown Trophy (Best average in 3rd div)

Matt Harvey

Gordon Baker Trophy (Contribution to TT)

Pat Halliwell

Glyn Gilbert Trophy (Veteran of the year)

Colin Brown

Maria Bubb Trophy (Best under 11 girl)

Kitty Thomas

Author: via Isle Of Man Table Tennis Association
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page