GP3 and League Report 15 March 2017



This week saw the final of three grand prix events in Division One of the Fun 88 sponsored IOM Table Tennis League. Sean Drewry, who won the last such event, is the recently crowned Senior Top 12 winner and he added another title to his tally by beating Malcolm Cummings in the third GP final.

In the last of the regular league matches Surestrike Ramsey C claimed the Division Three title after securing a narrow 6-4 win over Tower C. Travellers D needed to win 7-3 to guarantee their place in the play offs against Division Two team Peel B. They managed to include a few bonus points by winning 10-0.

Copy Shop E secured runners up spot in Division Four after drawing against club rivals Copy Shop D who were left in third place. Surestrike Ramsey D who ended the season losing heavily to the above mentioned Travellers D will face Copy Shop E in the divisional play-offs next week which will decide who plays in Division Three next season.

Grand Prix Results

Round One

Group A – This was topped by Julian Briercliffe followed by Simon Radcliffe in second leaving Kevin Drewry with third.

Group B – Jason Quirk prevailed ahead of winner of the first GP - Mark Johnson - who finished second. Chris Holmes came third.

Group C – Khayee Vinas secured top spot ahead of proud new dad Andy Patterson who settled for second. Freya Melvin from Division Two side Copy Shop B took third place.

Group D – Eventual finalist Malcolm Cummings obtained first place ahead of Steve Curtis leaving Juan Moore in third.

Group E – GP2 winner Sean Drewry topped the hardest group of the lot before Mike Tamarov snatched second place, leaving the Island Champion Liam Chan surprisingly in third.

Group F – Rhys Yardley claimed first place followed by Andy Horne who then beat third placed Graham McFarlane.

Round 2

Group G – Sean Drewry bagged the first place in the final by taking top spot. Jason Quirk picked up second followed by Khayee Vinas in third.

Group H – Malcolm Cummings booked his place in the final by overcoming Julian Briercliffe and Rhys Yardley. Briercliffe clinched second.

Group I – Mark Johnson finished first leaving Mike Tamarov to secure second, Simon Radcliffe came third.

Group J – Andy Patterson claimed first place ahead of Strathallan teammate Andy Horne who finished second, Steve Curtis was left with third.

Group K – Kevin Drewry took top spot followed by Graham McFarlane in second. Freya Melvin finished third.

Group L – Liam Chan secured first before Juan Moore took second leaving Chris Holmes in third.


1st-6th – Sean Drewry beat Malcolm Cummings in the final to take first place so Cummings secured the runners up spot. Julian Briercliffe clinched third to leave Jason Quirk in fourth. Khayee Vinas prevailed against Rhys Yardley to take fifth.

7th – 12th – Mark Johnson beat Andy Patterson to seventh, Patterson took eighth. Andy Horne was left in tenth when Mike Tamarov secured ninth. Simon Radcliffe earned 11th over teammate Simon Curtis who took 12th.

13th – 18th – Liam Chan bagged 13th, Kevin Drewry took 14th. Juan Moore clinched 15th followed by Graham McFarlane in 16th. Chris Holmes achieved 17th leaving Freya Melvin with the wooden spoon in 18th.

On the night Arbory claimed first place in the team competition, Strathallan were runners up. Travellers third, Copy Shop fourth. Surestrike fifth, Tower finished sixth.

Overall, this bagged Arbory the win however Travellers and Strathallan swap places as Travellers finish runners up. All the other positions are unchanged.

Division Three League Matches

Surestrike Ramsey D (0) Travellers D (10)

Alan Harding, Jackie Gill and Maurice Campbell all recorded three points before Campbell and Harding bagged the doubles to earn the clean sweep which was more than enough to secure second place in the league and put them into next week’s play-off for the Division Two vacancy.

Surestrike Ramsey X (1) Copy Shop C (9)

Third placed Copy Shop were on course for a clean sweep when both Chris Aspden and Zac Walker picked up three points before the pair won the doubles. However, Billy Coulter dropped a point with Dave Bufton picking up the consolation point for sixth placed Surestrike.

Tower C (4) Surestrike Ramsey C (6)


Wendy Hogan obtained a hat-trick for Ramsey followed by a brace from Fraser Dametto and a point from Frank Feeney which secured the win and the league championship. Tower reduced the deficit with a brace from Mike Chapman, a win from Barry Jenkins and a win in the doubles from the duo. It wasn’t enough for fourth placed Tower to pull it back.

Division Four

Copy Shop D (5) Copy Shop E (5)

Kitty Thomas bagged a hat-trick followed by two more from Libby Quaggin for the third placed D team. Then a brace from Cameron Dudley, a win from Josh Dudley and another from Leo Doyle got the E team nearly level. Finally a win in the doubles thanks to Josh and Neil Dudley was enough to rescue a draw for the second placed E team who will battle for a division three place next week.

Surestrike Ramsey E (4) St Ninian’s B (6)

Surestrike’s Lily Byrne earned a hat-trick along with a win from Jake Morris but braces from Archie Walter and Thomas Coleman, a win from Luke Hegarty then a win in the doubles from Walter and Hegarty was enough to secure the win for fourth placed St Ninian’s.

Author: via Isle Of Man Table Tennis Association
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page