Match Report - League 2019-2020 - Week 7

Lots of fun for the IOM TTA doubles mixing it up at the NSC

Thirty two players with ages ranging from 10 – 82, paired up into two groups of eight pairs for the annual Fun Doubles tournament.

Group A was won by the experienced and long levered Graham McFarlane with partner Kevin Drewry, they won 6 of their 7 games. The runner up spot was a close call and after a count back it was decided that second place went to the tennis ace Jim Travers and rising star Sam Preece, third place was claimed by the steady Marc Townsend and new junior player Miltos Proxatakis. Matty Evans with partner Ronan Thompson finished in 4th place, Maggie Mulhern and Peter Russell finished in 5th and 6th spot went to Chris Holmes with Wilma Dalugdugan. Scott Lewis and Megan Lord finished in 7th place and John Paul Banaag with partner Sonja Shaw finished in 8th place.

In group B, Island squad member Khayee Vinas and new player Corbyn Schade finish top, runner up was the blocker Adam Davies who was partnered with the experienced Pat Halliwell. In third place were the young guns from the senior schools games tournament, Glenn Callow and William Dalugdugan. Russel Kent and Margaret Forsyth took 4th place, Steve Curtis and Darren Shaw took 5th place, Barry Jenkins and Charlie Callow finished in 6th place, Neil Ronan and Martyn Howard finished 7th and Malcolm Lewis with Francesca Lord finished bottom of the group in 8th place.


The top 2 from each group went on to play in the semi final stage. The winners of Group A, McFarlane and Drewry played against the runners up of Group B, Davies and Halliwell. With a 11-4 9-11 12-10 win, McFarlane & Drewy took their place in the final.


In the 2nd semi final, the winners of Group B Vinas & Schade took on runners up Travers & Preece. Travers and Preece won the game in two sets, the first 11-7 and the second set went to a tie break 13-11.


McFarlane & Drewry were against Travers & Preece in the final. McFarlane / Drewry took the first set 11-4. In the second set, Travers & Preece were unlucky not to capitalise and take the game into a third set, but unfortunately they lost the second set in a nail biting tie break 15-13. McFarlane and Drewry are the winners of this years title.


Next week, the IOM Table Tennis Association will host the Home Countries International at the National Sports Centre, Douglas. Our proud players will include: Khayee Vinas, Glenn Callow, Charlie Callow, William Dalugdugan, Wilma Dalugdugan, Ronan Thompson, Sam Bailey, Sean Drewry, Kerenza Baker, Becky Taylor, Libby Quaggin and Lauren Allwright. They would all love to see you and appreciate your support.   

To support this prestigious event, please contact us through our facebook page

Article by Maggie Mulhern.

Author: via Isle Of Man Table Tennis Association
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page