Rothborough Dakotas 17 Yeomans (+7) 6/6, Taylor (+8) 4/8, Fleming (+8) 5/7, Taylor/Yeomans (+7) 2/2 Higham 23 Bashford (SCR) 9/3, Elliott (SCR) 8/4, Nannery (SCR) 4/8, Bashford/Nannery (SCR) 2/2.

Westfield “A” 17 Wooding (SCR) 1/11, Stefanov (SCR) 8/4, Silk (SCR) 7/5, Silk/Stefanov (SCR) 1/1 Rothborough Arrows 21 Marlow (+6) 6/6, M Watts (+6) 6/6, Smith (+6) 8/4, Marlow/Smith (+6) 1/1.


For the first time in three years Westfield “A” failed to reach the Millman Salver final after losing 21-17 to Rothborough Arrows. Sean Smith’s 4-0 victory over Brian Wooding gave Arrows a 12-8 lead which proved decisive as Westfield could only halve the following eighteen rubbers. Sean Smith starred for Arrows scoring eight points with Stefanov also scoring eight for Westfield. Wooding was sadly out of form managing only one point from twelve.

Higham booked the other final spot defeating Rothborough Dakotas 23-17. After five games the scores were level at 10-10 before Higham gained the initiative taking thirteen of the next twenty points. Richard Bashford and Richard Elliott starred for Higham taking nine and eight points each.



Rothborough Arrows 4 H Watts (+4) 2, M Watts (+7), Smith (+7) Corby Smash “B” 5 S Wilson (SCR) 2, A Wilson (+5) 3.

Corby Smash “A” 4 Ainsworth (+10), West (SCR) 3 Corby Smash “C” 5 P Hillery (+12) 2, L Hillery (+12) 2, T Hillery (+12).


Corby Smash are guaranteed winners of the Borough Trophy after 2

nd Division leaders Smash “B” and 3rd Division leaders Smash “C” both won their semi-finals 5-4 against Rothborough Arrows and Corby Smash “A”. Conceding three points with only two players Smash “B’s” Adam and Sam Wilson won five of the six rubbers played. Helen Watts put Arrows 4-3 ahead defeating Sam Wilson 23-21 in the deciding game. Adam levelled the scores beating Martin Watts 21-15, 13-21, 21-19 and brother Sam clinched the deciding point with a 17-21, 21-17, 22-20 win over Sean Smith.

Smash “A” also fielded a two player team but could not match their “B” team’s victory. Tony West’s maximum and Mike Ainsworth’s 21-17, 21-18 victory over Tyler Hillery levelled the match at 4-4 before elder brother Peter’s easy win over Ainsworth settled the tie.



Thrapston Falcons (+170) 439 Payne 99/118, Baldock 84/123, Tyler 64/124, Payne/Baldock 22/42 Corby Lyveden Fields (SCR) 407 Murie 116/100, Haynes 123/86, Arthur 126/61, Haynes/Arthur 42/22.

Westfield “C” (SCR) 414 Hobbs 126/62, Wildman 126/50, Rushton 126/58, Hobbs/Wildman 36/39 Burton Baptist “C” (+170) 379 Muggleton 51/126, Agg 60/126, Goodman 59/126, Agg/Muggleton 39/36.


Westfield “C” and Thrapston Falcons will contest the Shirley Everard Points Cup Final after Westfield’s 414/379 defeat of Burton Baptist “C” and Falcons 439/407 win over Corby Lyveden Fields. Steve Hobbs, Sam Wildman and Matt Rushton made steady inroads into Baptist’s 170 point advantage and victory was assured by game nine. Henry Arthur easily achieved the handicapper’s target only conceding sixty one points but Chris Haynes and Carl Murie were unable to match his efforts. Nigel Payne was again Falcon’s star only conceding nineteen points to much higher ranked premier division opponents. Payne, Ian Baldock and Alan Tyler all won rubbers which proved decisive in achieving a comfortable thirty-two point victory.

Author: via Kettering Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page