LMTTL 2014-15 AGM mins

Mins of 2014 -15 AGM at Trimpell Social Club, Tuesday 12th May, 2015 – 7pm

Apologies from (President) Dave Hughes, Ken Richardson (Match Sec & Junior Development), David Bruce, Paul Stebbing

Present:- Ray Carr (Chairman), Carl Stebbing (League Sec and Treasurer),

Bob Williamson (TTE Rep), Adam Cooper, Daniel Jackson, Ken Riley, Ian Gee, Nicole Finn, Adam Forshaw.

Clubs not represented:- Morecambe, St Lukes.

Mins of the 2013-14 were accepted on block

Matters arising required a Handicap Singles event to be reinstated in the Annual Tournament. This was included in the 2014-15 tournament.

 Ken Richardson’s comprehensive report included league tables, cup finals and tournament stats for all junior and senior events. Special mention was made of the highly successful Bay League and of the number of local juniors who have progressed via the league to achieve local, county and international success. The latest being LGGS who are now English schools U16 champions with Great Wood 3rd in U11.

 Carl Stebbing reported that TTE (Table Tennis England) was now under threat of a takeover from a consortium including former CEO Alex Murdoch who were currently canvassing leagues for their votes. Our only concern with the current management was their blatant misinformation on the introduction of the new balls. In contradiction of the ITTF they incorrectly insisted it was mandatory for all leagues to switch to the new ball next season. This has now been resolved and as both celluloid and plastic balls are approved we will leave it to individual teams.

We attempt to put as much info on the league website as possible but in response to several requests we will also produce some basic hard copy fixture booklets for next season.

There was a reasonable turnout for the annual tournament despite the absence of a number of our top juniors who were playing in the Blackpool Grand Prix.

The league is also looking at the possibility of starting next season’s fixtures a week earlier to provide more flexibility to accommodate half terms and the University teams.

Income over expenditure has dropped from £200 last season to £50 primarily due to the additional cost of trophies as a result of additional competitions.

We registered more players this season but all those fees go to TTE.

For several seasons the league has frozen the team entry fee of £40 but for next season this will be increased to £50 per team which includes free entry for all players to the annual tournament.

The only item significantly different to last season was an income item of £1000 development grant which after recording was transferred to the Development Officer’s account.

As at the 11th May the bank balance is £2640.65, any items after this date will be recorded in the 2015-16 accounts.

All members of the Executive Committee were re-elected

A new format was introduced for the end of season cup competitions i.e. Coronation and Riley Cups. The team handicaps were calculated on the final league positions. This produced a last game finish in the Coronation but a one sided result in the Riley. On reflection each team has to field their strongest 3 players to accurately reflect the handicap and an eligibility rule on player appearances needs to be introduced. In the Riley final the winning team influenced the result with the introduction of a strong registered player who had not played any league games all season. It was agreed to resolve this at the next pre season meeting.   

In the Lancs & Cheshire league the Vets team finished 5th in Div 1 but have qualified for the Denis Smith Handicap Cup final. Having won the cup last season the team will be defending the trophy albeit with a much changed team.

We try to put as much information as we can on the 365 website and welcome any suggestions. Recently we introduced an Honours list of individual and Team competitions since the early fifties. This is a work in progress with lots of blanks as we don’t have the records especially in the early years. If you can fill in any of the spaces contact the League Secretary.

The Premier Divisional winner trophies were presented to Lancaster University

Author: via Lancaster and Morecambe Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page