21st December 2012


21st. December 2012

Leamington Veterans B continued their strong run in Midland League Division 3 when they defeated Mansfield 8-2. Nilton Green (WCC) was in impressive form, taking his 3 and the doubles with club-mate Murray Stevenson. Stevenson chipped in with 2 singles as did Enigma’s Malcolm Macfarlane to complete a fine win.

In Leamington Division 1 County Council’s A and B teams fought out a thrilling draw. Nilton Green and Simon Griew each won twice for B with Murray Stevenson adding one. In reply A’s Phil Paine recorded two wins, Clive Irwin and Pat McCabe one apiece with Irwin and Paine securing the doubles. Colebridge B had one of their season’s best efforts when forcing a draw at St. Georges C.  Debutant Mick Allsopp posted 3 for the home team, Paul Smith 1 and Smith and Ray Kingston won the doubles but the Birmingham side responded with 2 each from Vikas Bakshi and Mike Rinnhofer and 1 from John Chandler. Free Church A edged out St.Georges A 6-4 with Tom Brocklehurst and Deepak Chandrababu taking braces and reserve Michael Ho notching a fine win. The doubles also went to Church with Damon Fenton and Earl Sweeney winning Georges’ points. Wellesbourne were away day winners at Rugby B winning 7-3. None could master the home side’s Ryan Lines but Alan Cotton, John Price and Gary Stewart wrapped up the other points. Rugby A maintained their momentum at the top with a 9-1 drubbing of St. Georges A. Jesse Kendrick-Hill and James Ward were unbeaten and Matthew Outhwaite won twice, just falling to the impressive Earl Sweeney. They exceeded this when whitewashing WCC B, with the same 3 players in unforgiving mood.

In Division 2 high-flyers Free Church B were surprisingly beaten by their young D side for whom Timmy Cooper gained an impeccable treble, Lee Dorning claimed two and Roald Myers one. Enigmas could not take advantage of the slip and also fell 4-6 to St. Georges D. Kevin Finn’s hat-trick was the difference and he was ably aided by Brian Aston (2) and Jimmy Pittaway (1). Phoenix overcame struggling Free Church C with Paul Calloway taking a treble, Roy Joiner 2 and Gordon Tucker 1. Solomon Hayes had two excellent wins in reply. Rugby  C march on at the top and blitzed Whitnash A 9-1. Niall Herbert and Anshul Satsangi were unbeaten and Paul Lilley only found the wily Dennis Woodhead too good.

Free Church F and Whitnash B had a basement clash in the 3rd Division with the away team taking the spoils 6-4. Len Coonan’s triple, Greg Swan’s double and the doubles tipped the balance with Lleryn Gardner 2, Caroline Nicholls 1 and Pete Rourke 1 making for a close tussle. Whitnash B gave themselves another massive boost by thumping Nomads C 8-2. Len Coonan and Greg Swan both took hat-tricks and combined for the doubles with Wilf Chan notching one. Flavels hammered Free Church H 9-1 with Mick Bennett and Trevor Bradley showing all their experience to remain unbeaten. Ken Southwell won twice and Roger Potts joined Bradley for the doubles. Flavels then came back to earth as Kim Wong’s treble and Chris Blowey’s double, plus a John Taylor single saw them fall 4-6 to second placed Free Church E. 6th met 5th as WCC C drew with Rugby D. Derek Harwood and Doug Lowe took 2 apiece and the doubles for Council but Rugby’s Danny Orr won his 3 and Dave Cox and Mark Wilson had a win each.

Other result: Free Church F 1 (Tony Williams) Nomads B 9 ( Robin Fox-Strangways 2, Richard Miles 2, Steve Kurle 1 +D + 3 conceded).

High flying Ashorne A and Eathorpe B fought out an exciting draw in Division 4. Steve Bolton and Roger Kelley won twice for the home team , Chris Bowles adding one. Michael Rossington’s excellent treble kept the visitors in it, Paul Deavall scored one and the pair took the doubles. At the bottom, Rugby E nosed out Free Church K 6-4 thanks to triples from Emma Kilpatrick and Millie Bradshaw. Leaders Free Church I overcame WCC D 8-2 with Josh Wyatt-Smith recording a great threesome. Ben Haigh and Joe Hunt bagged braces and combined for the doubles.

FISCC put aside relegation fears in Division A taking all 5 points from FC M. Brian Marston and George Mudie knew too much for their young opponents. Snitterfield C edged Ashorne B 3-2 thanks to Henry Lu retaining his 100% record for 2 wins plus the vital doubles with Peter Vale-Humphries. Without Henry, Snitterfield then lost to leaders Free Church L whose Keith Knott and Tony Williams claimed all 5 points.

Topspinners are making a late surge for promotion in Division B and Richard Lancucki’s double propelled them to a 4-1 drubbing of leaders Eathorpe D. Russell Smith posted 1 win and partnered Lancucki to the doubles. Topspinners then saw off bottom side Free Church O 5-0 with Bradley Matthews joining Smith for the points. Eathorpe E narrowly defeated St. Georges F 3-2 with James Keay instrumental, winning his 2 and the doubles with Callum Pickering.

Free Church P maintained their stranglehold at the top of Division C, pasting FC Q 4-1. Daniel Shaw won twice and took the doubles with Lewis Singleton who won once. FC R want runners-up spot and did their cause a power of good when taking all 5 points from FC S. Sam Bradley and Jill Weaving were the destroyers.

In Division D leaders FC T thumped FC U 5-0 through Leyna Stanton and Alice Todd. Owing to illness Matthew Hayes stepped in for FC W against Eathorpe G and led his team to a 3-2 success as he won 2. Elaine Bradley (1) ensured victory. W fell against FC V however, conceding all 5 sets to Daniel Strand and Sundeep Virdi.

Author: via Leamington Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Share This Page