26th April 2013


26th April, 2013


Leamington Veterans B wrapped up the Midland League Division 3 title with a 6-4 success over Hinckley B. Nilton Green and Murray Stevenson won two singles each and Malcolm Macfarlane chipped in with one. Green and Stevenson then got home 11-9 in the 5th in an exciting doubles. Phil Paine and Steve Proctor have also figured for the side during the season.

Two Lillington Free Church youngsters entered the Westfield tournament in Wellingborough at the weekend and both met success. Lee Dorning won his Cadet group emphatically, defeating number 3 seed Henry Simmons in the semi-final before losing to number 1 seed Ben Tombs, deuce in the 5th. In the Junior event Dorning defeated club mate Sam Weaving, number 2 seed Jake Henley, Ben Bennett and Michael Yip, all 3-0. He then took out Simmons for a second time in the semi-final before losing to Tombs, once more at deuce in the 5th.

Weaving finished 3rd in his group, including a stunning win over Henley, but just missing out on qualification for the main draw. However, he raced to the Consolation final which he won beating Jonathan Edland in 4.

There is only one match to play in the 2-a-side League and it will decide the Division A title. Free Church L (Keith Knott,Tony Williams) hold a 1 point advantage over Topspinners (Richard Lancucki, Bradley Matthews, Russell Smith) but with Lancucki top of the averages, this could easily be overturned. Snitterfield C and Eathorpe C occupy the relegation berths.

Lilligton Free Church N (Tom Fletcher, James Robertson, Jay Virdi) have won Division B with Virdi topping the averages. Free Church M (Ben King, Matthew Scott, Charlie Snelson) clinched runners-up spot from Eathorpe E (William Apted, James Keay, Callum Pickering) by a solitary point. Ashorne B and Free Church R are the bottom two.

The Division C title went to St. Georges F (Kevin Rose, Alex Wright) and Wright took the averages prize. Free Church O (Ashley and Jeremy Knott, and James Wilson) finished second.

Eathorpe F and Free Church T face relegation.

Finally, the Division 4 championship went to Eathorpe G (Alex Birri, Jamie Sayer, Leo Varga-Elmiyeh). Free Church S (Sophie Bethell, Eve Briscoe, Jenny Singleton) were runners-up with both Daniel Strand (FC W) and Singleton ending the season on 100% averages. Strand will take the prize having played a match more.

In Division 1 Wellesbourne probably did enough to avert relegation with a 7-3 win over Colebridge B, Alan Cotton and Gary Stewart taking all of their points. Colebridge A thumped Rugby b 9-1 with hat-tricks from Edward Lynn and Sarra Wang and a double from Kate Hughes. Rugby A moved top after whitewashing County Council B 10-0, Jesse Kendrick-Hill, Matthew Outhwaite and Adrian Pilgrim in uncompromising form. WCC B did beat their A team, however, 6-4 with Simon Griew and Martin Hunter winning pairs and Nilton Green a single. Green and Griew took the doubles with Phil Paine (2) the best A team performer. St. Georges C edged St Georges A 6-4 despite an Earl Sweeney treble for A. John Fuller (2), Gary Webb (2) and Paul Smith (1) replied with Fuller/Webb taking the doubles.

Other results: St. Georges A 3 (Matthew Jordan 2, Charlotte Spencer 1) WCC B 7 (Simon Griew 3, Murray Stevenson 2, Nilton Green 1 +D); Free Church A 4 (Tom Brocklehurst 2, Solomon Hayes 1, Luke Hobbins 1) Wellesbourne 6 (Gary Stewart 3, Alan Cotton 1, John Price 1 +D); Colebridge B 1 (Mike Rinnhofer) St. Georges C 9 (Mick Allsopp 2, Gary Webb 2, Paul Smith 1 +D +3 conceded); St. Georges B 5 (Matthew Man 3, Mark Jackson 1 +D) St Georges C 5 (Miles Chan 1, Gary Webb 1 +3 conceded); St. Georges B 6 (Laurence Sweeney 3, Mark Jackson 2, +D) WCC A 4 (Chris Brewer 1 +3 conceded); St. Georges B 7 ( Jackson 3, Man 3 +D) St. Georges A 3 (3 conceded); St. Georges B 7 (Jackson 3, Sweeney 3 +D) Colebridge B 3 (3 conceded).

Title contenders Rugby C and Free Church B finished all square in Division 2. Niall Herbert and Paul Lilley won two apiece for the home team and Anshul Satsangi once. Michael Ho (2) was best for the visitors also teaming with Luke Spencer for the doubles. St Georges E seem to have avoided relegation with a fine win at Nomads A. Pete Harris and Jack Shardlow took triples. Free Church D put pressure on the top sides with a 9-1 drubbing of Eathorpe A. Timmy Cooper and Lee Dorning amassed 7 points between them and Scott Delday added two.

In Division 3 Lillington Free Church G hammered Nomads C 10-0 with Dudley Turner, Sam Weaving and Sam Wiggins invincible. Champions Snitterfield A edged Free Church E 6-4 with Tim Fell unbeaten. Rob Poole notched two and Stuart Ayres one with Chris Blowey, John Taylor and Kim Wong all winning once and a Blowey/Wong doubles success. Flavels should take second spot after defeating Free Church H 7-3. Trevor Bradley won his three, Steve Lyons two and Mick Bennett one. Roger Potts joined Bradley for the doubles. Kit Turner was again impressive for Church taking two. Better for FC H as they overcame Rugby D 7-3, Turner 3, Andrew McIlvaney 2, Harry Purewal 1 plus the doubles.

In Division 4 Free Church I defeated Rugby E 7-3 thanks mainly to Josh Wyatt-Smith’s maximum. Joe Hunt added two and Ben Haigh 1 with Josh and Ben clinching the doubles. Emma Kilpatrick won two for Rugby and newcomer Freddie Jones one. Free Church J march on at the top walloping WCC D 9-1 (Adam Cofler 3, Tom Harris 3, Adam Pulman 2 +D). Free Church K drew with WCC D with Jack Green taking his first hat-trick. He also won the doubles with Olivia Fletcher who won once. Mark Bridgeman (2), William Hung (2) and Pat Woolvin (1) offered stout resistance.

Author: via Leamington Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Share This Page